V1 – Episode 2 – Friends

Chapter 1 – Naoya Ookusu

Volume 1


For me, the return of a test is an event that makes me both happy and unhappy.

On one hand, I’m hopeful that I’ll get a good score because I’ve been studying hard, but on the other hand, I’m worried that I’ll get a low score even after studying so hard. If you were to describe the range of other people’s emotions as joy and sorrow, you could say that it’s all about joy+sorrow.

Even if it’s a quiz.

“Ookusu.”

That’s what my English teacher, Niiyama sensei, called me, and when I received my answer sheet, I looked at the score and felt something indescribable.

95.

 

Only one question was wrong. I thought I had gotten a perfect score, so I didn’t feel too good about it. However, it wasn’t a bad feeling since I had been told beforehand that the average score was 58.

“Ookusu~, what’s your score?”

It was Saito, my otaku friend, who approached me. When he saw my score, he turned away and approached another guy saying, “Shindo~”. Then he looked at Shindo’s score and squared his shoulders, saying, “We’re friends after all, aren’t we?”.

“Ookusu, are you getting good marks again?”

Shindo asked, moving his fat chin. I nodded.

“95, the highest score, at least.”

Shindo sighed in exasperation.

Saito chuckled as he touched his shaved head in embarrassment.

“By the way, our combined score is 50. And please don’t ask me which one of us got how many points.”

However, Niiyama-sensei immediately wrote the lowest score on the blackboard. The lowest score was 25.

” “…………” “

“…… Don’t mind it.”

“I just didn’t take the quiz seriously because it doesn’t affect my grade.”.

 After seeing Niiyama sensei clear his throat, we returned to our seats. Saito sat right behind me, and Shindo sat behind him.

The class resumed. There was a general review of the test results, and the summary was that we should use the results of this test to our advantage and do our best in the midterm test.

“Hey…”

I turned my body halfway back as I was poked and prodded. Saito was talking to me, holding out a small piece of paper in front of him.

“It came from somewhere. It’s for you.”

When I opened the folded piece of paper, I found this written in cute letters.

 ”–How was your test, Ookusu-kun? I got 90.’

There was a picture drawn after the message of a disappointed face.

There was no name written on it, but there was only one person who would do such a thing. I grabbed a pen and wrote a reply without the teacher noticing.

 ’–I got a 95. We were both close to a perfect score, weren’t we’

I wrote back to Saito behind me. I glanced to the back of the classroom, where a female student noticed me and smiled.

After class, the person who had handed me the message came up to me.

“Ookusu-kun?”

I looked up.

There was the girl from earlier.

She had a medium hairstyle with a side braid. Her black hair was so beautiful that it was fluttering every time she moved a little. She always looks so cute.

Her name was Shiori Fujisaki. She and I are the class presidents.

While I’ve been in the first place, Fujisaki has been hovering around second to fifth place. She seems to be frustrated that she hasn’t beaten me once, and always asks me about my score.

“I lost again this time. I was so close.”

Her face was slightly puffy.

The difference between 95 and 90 is a margin of error. I can lose any time.

“Don’t say that. I’ve never won before.”

“It’s just a coincidence. I’ll probably lose one of these days.”

While I was saying this, I was breaking out in a cold sweat inside.

I was just five points away. If I had gotten a perfect score, it would seem that the difference would have been more than points. But the difference between one and two mistakes is not very big.

“Fujisaki’s score has been improving lately, so I can’t be too careful. I haven’t been able to study much this time, so I’m afraid I might lose the midterm.”

“Are you sure? You always say that and still take first place.”

Of course, I was lying. I’m studying to death.

“It’s just a coincidence. Fujisaki is smart too, so you’re going to overtake me soon.”

“Hmmm. I’ve seen that you have confidence in yourself this time as well as next time”

That’s right. The only reason I can talk lightly about the possibility of losing is that I know I won’t lose. The quiz this time was a last-minute decision, but there are eight midterms in total. I’m sure I won’t lose in the total score.

“But when do you study, Mr. Ohkusu? You don’t seem to be doing it much when you’re at school, and after school, you’re active in the science club……. You don’t seem to have much time to study.”

“I told you earlier right? I haven’t been studying much lately. I might lose to you next time.”

” Are you sure about that? It’s always like that, isn’t it, and yet I can’t win at all.”

It may look like I don’t study, but I do quite a bit.

Not only do I cling to my desk when I’m at home, but I’m also constantly recalling what I had memorized in my mind on my way to school and during classes. Sometimes during club activities, I secretly look at my English vocabulary book. I don’t only study when I’m at my desk with a pen in her hand.

“Hey, let’s compete for this midterm test.”

Fujisaki put her fingers on her cheeks and smiled mischievously.

“But don’t you always do that?”

“How about, this time, the loser listens to the winner?”

I was more than a little surprised. Fujisaki intends to beat me this time.

“What kind of orders are we talking about when you say listen to the other?”

“That’s up to the person giving the orders.”

The idea of a high school boy being able to freely order a high school girl around sounds obscene, but I don’t dare to give that kind of order. I’m sure she’s anticipating that as well before she offers it.

“Can we decide the winner or loser based on the higher of the overall ranking?”

“Of course I’m going to do that. I’ll win.”

Just then, the chime rang. The next class was about to start.

The next class was about to start, and after a few words, Fujisaki returned to her seat.

Beat me, huh? That’s fine. I’ll give you a real fight, too.


TN: Sigh.. Still premise setting. But we’re getting our heroine intro on the next one.. Let’s see how it goes…

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER


Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

6 thoughts on “V1 – Episode 2 – Friends

  1. As there’s a harem tag on MAL… I’m guessing this girl might have a “I’ll confess to him if I ever beat him” mentality… might be completely wrong though.
    Thanks for the translations ^ – ^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started