Episode 20 – Fantastical Girl

After leaving the concert hall, I visited a mansion.

“You can come in.”

What I heard from the other side of the door, which was twice the size of a normal home, was the voice of a girl who gave me a cool impression.

Even though I had heard it over the phone a few hours ago, hearing it in person still gave me a slightly different impression.

It had been about a year since I had heard her voice, so maybe the quality of her voice had changed a little.

I slowly opened the door, feeling a little nervous.

“Welcome.”

As I walked in, I immediately heard words welcoming me.

I looked in the direction of the voice and saw a pretty girl staring at me, looking a bit fantastical.

Her name is Tenjouin Yomi-san.

She’s a second-year high school student like me.

Yomi-san’s lightly pigmented millet-colored hair is so long and straight that it is hard to believe she is Japanese, and her eyes are clear and blue.

Her skin is almost pure white, without a single blemish, and she says she is often mistaken for a foreigner.

The reason why she looks so fantastical is probably that she has an elusive and mysterious atmosphere about her.

I thought she had become even more beautiful in the short time I hadn’t seen her.

She, like Nekoto-chan, is a beautiful girl that you don’t see very often.

“Thank you for making time to see me on such short notice. Are you okay with your schedule?”

“No need to worry.”

 She is a busy person, so I thought she might have forced herself to make time for me today, but it turns out there was no problem.

–is what I thought.

“–I’m the one who’s going to get scolded later for canceling a dinner party with your father and the prime minister. ……”

There is a maid next to Yomi-san with a very gloomy expression on her face saying something like that, but this is definitely the fellow who canceled such an important appointment.

“Um, Yomi-san?”

“No problem, everything’s fine.

When I called out to her with a worried look on my face, she replied with a nonchalant expression that there was no problem.

I wondered if there really was no problem.

I don’t want my father to get mad at me later, because then my father will get mad at me too.

However, as long as Yomi-san is okay with it, it probably won’t turn into trouble.

If that’s the case, it’s better not to worry about it anymore, because it’s not good to poke at her and make her feel bad.

“By the way, about the phone call…”

I changed my mind and explained again about what had happened today.

Yomi-san listened in silence and seemed to be trying to sort it out in her mind.

After I was finished, she said, 

“Are you stupid?”

The words came back to me very harshly.

Yes, I could tell that she was angry.

“Um……”

I knew it wasn’t going to be smooth sailing, but I was a little confused because she was in a worse mood than I thought.

She got up from the expensive-looking jet-black chair and slowly approached me.

“Hey, Yorito.”

“Yes?”

“Are you getting the wrong idea or something, Yorito? Why do you need to get involved in the affairs of an idol?”

Yomi-san came up to my side and stared down at me as if to look me in the eye.

She seems to be angry, which is unusual for a cool girl.

“Why? Because, as I said before, Nekoto-chan is in trouble……”

“Troubled? Isn’t that just the selfishness of a child?

It is true that Nekoto-chan’s thoughts sound like the selfishness of a child who does not understand.

However, in Nekoto-chan’s case, she was being selfish because of her kindness.

I didn’t want it to end up as just the selfishness of a child.

“I don’t think she’ s wrong about wanting to help the people she works with.”

“Funny you should say that. You’re not going to help this Clara girl, are you?”

Yomi-san’s eyes glittered as she snickered.

I just told her what happened today, I didn’t tell her what I wanted to do specifically.

Even so, the fact that she knows that I don’t intend to help Clara makes her different from most people.

“In the first place, what kind of attitude do you have when you appear in front of Yomi?  Is Yomi a convenient woman for you?”

“Eh ……?”

The conversation suddenly changed and I was once again confused by the unexpected question.

Yomi-san is a woman of convenience?

What exactly does that mean?

“You betrayed me and only come here when you want something from me? Did you think I’d tolerate you because you were my childhood friend?”

“Wait a minute!  What do you mean I betrayed you? I didn’t betray you!”

In front of a visibly angry Yomi-san, I hurriedly denied her words.

It seems that the reason she is in a bad mood is not only because of Nekoto-chan but because she has some misunderstanding about me.

Perhaps the reason she didn’t show this attitude when I visited her was that she was trying to keep it to herself so that I wouldn’t find out about it.

It’s unusual for this poker-faced person to show anger.

“So, you did not betray me? I’m sure you and Yomi originally had a relationship other than childhood friends. And you unilaterally broke it off. What do you call that other than betrayal?”

“Oh, that’s……”

At this point, I finally understand what Yomi-san is angry about.

Up until last year, we were together every single time we had a long vacation.

The reason for this is because of my relationship with Yomi-san – I was hired as her personal bodyguard from a young age.

She is the daughter of one of the largest conglomerates in Japan, and it has something to do with the fact that my father was originally hired by her father as a bodyguard.

At first, she didn’t like the idea of having a bodyguard because she didn’t trust anyone. But she didn’t complain about being around me because we were the same age. I was told that the idea came from a light-hearted desire to try to have my training connect to the duties of a bodyguard. 

Of course, in the beginning, I wasn’t expected to serve as a bodyguard at all, so I was more like a playmate.

And every time there was a long vacation, I would be called in, and we were together all the way up until my freshman year of high school last year.

That’s why we have this strange relationship, her being a young lady and me being an ordinary citizen.

However, our relationship came to an abrupt end last year.

Yomi-san seems to be angry about that.

–But what does it mean that I broke it off unilaterally?

I’m pretty sure that was a decision made by my father and Yomi-san’s father, President Tenjouin……


TN: And that’s it folkes. We have caught up with the raws. I’ll try to release the future chapters as they are being released by the author from now on.

On other note, please suggest a new novel to be picked up : New Project Suggestion

Join us on Discord..!!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER


Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

8 thoughts on “Episode 20 – Fantastical Girl

  1. I really like how quickly the story went from a venue to really big mansion in like 2 seconds. I can only hope space comes into play at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The plot is getting more and more twisted… Don’t tell me his father will re-marry to a mother of one of his classmates that has crush on him or A princess from a far away country had also a crush on him and decided to raid him at school?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started