V1C3 Part 3

Chapter 3 – Slow Steps

Volume 1


A little while later, it was Saturday…

Seirei Gakuen has been holding classes every Saturday since the infamous “relaxed education” era. It’s only for three hours, though.

I’ve just finished my three hours of classes and am about to go home for the day along with Ichiya. But as I changed my shoes to leather shoes and walked out of the gate, a voice called out to me.

[Hey, Nachi. Na~cchi. Na~cchan. O~i.]

My name was called out in various ways.

I only knew one person who was this lively. But when I looked around, I couldn’t find her anywhere.

[Up here].

[Up ? ]

As I was told, I looked up and saw my senpai, Madoka Shihodo, peeking out of the window of the third-floor classroom. She was wearing a club jersey, probably for club activities now.

[I’ll give you something good. Come here.]

She beckoned to me saying so.

When Madoka-senpai says, “I’ll give you something good,” I’m somewhat alarmed.

[Hoi!]

[What?…… Whoa–]

As I approached closer, she threw something at me. It was a small object, and I couldn’t see it until I was very close to it, so I panicked when I was about to catch it.

It was a five-hundred-yen coin that landed in my palm.

[Pokari and Oolong-tea. Then Nacchi can buy whatever you want. You too, Toyachi. And you can keep the change.]

[In other words, you want me to be your gofer?]

[That’s correct. I’m not asking for free labor, so why not? We’re going to the second gymnasium, so you can bring it there. ]

[…..Roger.]

I shrugged my shoulders and replied.

[And you need to wear shoes when you enter the gym. You can’t use indoor shoes.]

Madoka Senpai added and waved us off with a grin.

[Such a simpleton]

As I walked towards the cafeteria, I was promptly complained to by Ichiya.

[Ignore that kind of stuff. It’s not like you have to take the trouble to do it.]

[Well, isn’t it fine? It’s not too much trouble. I don’t mind being asked to do that.]

I soothingly responded to him.

[I’m don’t know what to call it if not trouble for being stopped when you’re about to go home, having to put your previously changed indoor shoes back on, go to the cafeteria, and then go to the gym while taking your shoes along. ]

[……]

This is not good. Ichiya has gone into grumpy mode and is talking more than usual. This is the worst pattern. It’s as bad as Katase Senpai’s polite language. I’ll just finish my business here and go home quickly. I quickened my pace.

And then, in the cafeteria…

[Pokari and oolong tea” is what she said … What should we do? Should we buy something for ourselves? ]

I went to the vending machine in the corner of the cafeteria and bought what I was asked to buy. Then I stopped and asked Ichiya, who was standing behind me. By the way, the vending machines in the school are cheaper than the ones outside because of the school price. For five hundred yen, I could buy four drinks and still get change. But it’s only about 20 or 30 yen. Children’s wages, I guess.

[I don’t care. Take it as a reward for your hard work.]

[That’s true, too. I’ll have a Coke, then. What do you want to drink Ichiya? ]

[….. Coffee. The second one from the left in the bottom row.]

I bought the designated canned coffee and handed it to Ichiya. Then I held Madoka-senpai’s order in my left hand and my Coke in my right hand. Now all I have to do is deliver it to the gym and my mission is complete. Let’s get this over with before Ichiya’s mood drops any further.

On the way, I stopped by the entrance again to pick up shoes for the gym before heading to my destination.

[Ichiya, if you want, you can go home first. You must be hungry, right?]

That’s right, we haven’t had lunch yet. It was Saturday and we hadn’t brought our lunch. I felt bad about delaying even his return because of an errand I had taken on.

[I’ll stick around a little longer.]

So we both headed for the gym.

I may have mentioned it before, but the second gym is designed for basketball. So when we got close, we could hear the distinctive sound of the ball being bounced around.

(Huh? So, Madoka-senpai is in the basketball club?)

As I peeked inside with this question in my mind, I saw Madoka-senpai and a few other members of the club. It seemed that it was still before practice time, and they were doing their shooting.

[Ah……]

Then I realized that Katase Senpai was there in front of the stage in the gymnasium.

While I was puzzled at the sight of her, she seemed to have spotted me and gave me a small wave in front of her chest.

Whenever I come across her in an unexpected place like this, I always feel confused and have no idea what to do. Well, there aren’t many times that I didn’t panic when I met Senpai.

[Thank you, Nacchi.]

This time it was Madoka-senpai. She spotted Ichiya and me standing at the entrance and came up to us.

[So Madoka senpai was on the basketball club huh]

[That’s right. I thought you knew, so I didn’t mention.]

[I had no idea. …… Oh, here.]

I held out Pokari and Oolong tea. But Senpai took only the Pokari in her hand.

[That one’s Tsukasa’s. You should give it to her.]

[Eh?]

[Don’t say ‘eh’. Here, come in..]

Is this your house?

[I see. That’s what you’ve been planning all along.]

Beside me, Ichiya, who had been silent until now, finally opened her mouth.

[I see. You’re very perceptive, Toyachi.]

[I can’t hang around any longer. I’m leaving now.]

With that, he turned on his heel and left, waving his hand over his back.

[What was that?]

[Who knows? Maybe he’s hungry?]

[Does Ichiya get grumpy when he’s hungry?]

He has never told me that he has such a nature. Well, even if he didn’t, his bad mood rate has been climbing lately.

[Oh, yeah. Come hang out with me for little, Nacchi.]

I changed into my shoes and followed her. The destination was, as expected, where Katase Senpai was. As I walked, I managed to calm my mind, which had been restless since I saw Katase-senpai. I know there’s nothing to be nervous about, but I’m still in such a stupor.

Soon I reached Katase Senpai.

[H.here you go… Were you on the basketball team too, Senpai?

Even though I had decided what I was going to say first and had even simulated it, I still managed to chew it.

My senpai, who had no way of knowing how upset I was, smiled and replied.

“No way. Madoka forced me to come and see it.

“Madoka-senpai did?

When I turned to the person in question, she had just finished rehydrating herself with Pokari.

[All right, Nacchi, let’s do a one-on-one match.]

[Why would I want to do that?]

[Don’t be stingy. I watched you the other day during my lunch break, and you’re pretty good. I think we’ll have a good match.]

Lunch break? Oh, you mean when we played Three on Three?

Come to think of it, Madoka-senpai was also there at that time, and she was talking with Ichiya about something. The contents of the conversation are still a mystery to me.

(And I also remember that I embarrassed myself in front of Katase-senpai. ……)

After all, it was a combo of a direct hit to the face and a fall.

[The difference in height and build, and the difference in basic physical abilities between men and women, all add up to zero, right?]

Next to me, who was being depressed in private, Madoka-senpai said while spinning the ball with her fingertips.

[In other words, Senpai is bigger and stronger than me, therefore, you won’t lose to a guy, right.?]

[You little! Take this.]

[Uwa! No violence! No violence!]

Mouths are a recipe for disaster. She jumped at me and put me in a headlock.

Well, it’s an undeniable fact that Madoka-senpai is taller than me. She’s well-built, but at the same time, I can feel her flexibility. In addition, she seems to have a good figure, and I hope she doesn’t feel inclined to put on a headlock. What a dangerous weapon.

[What should I do?……]

Even though I was freed from the headlock, which was dangerous in many ways, I still couldn’t decide whether to accept the match.

[If you’re going to run away, why don’t you return the money I gave you earlier? And Ichiya’s share too, of course.]

[I understand. I just have to do it, right?]

Madoka Senpai is 28 times more stingy than me.

I reluctantly began my preparations. I took off my blazer, removed my tie, and rolled up the sleeves of my shirt. I placed the blazer and my tie together on the stage.

[I ended up having to play against Madoka senpai]

[Hmm. Good for you.]

[……]

W..what was that?

As I put my blazer down, I spoke to Katase Senpai, who was standing beside me, and she replied in a very curt tone. Moreover, she seemed to be turning away from me heartlessly with her lips pouting.

As I tilted my head at the incomprehensible turn of events, I began my preparatory exercises.

(Madoka senpai, you made me bring the shoes with the intention of having me play against you from the start huh.)

As I was thinking about this while tying my shoelaces tightly, a voice came down from above my head.

[Madoka is the captain of the basketball team.]

It was Katase Senpai.

The tone of voice was still curt. Senpai, please stop standing right behind me. It’s scary.

[Seriously?]

[Yes.]

This is bad. I was barely even with Miyazato (a.k.a. Sato-chan), who was the captain of the women’s basketball team in junior high school. Even if you simply consider that Miyazato had been further trained in high school basketball, Madoka Senpai’s seniority would certainly be superior.

[Madoka Senpai, please lend me the ball.]

[Alright. Be careful with your upkeep.]

Following the preparatory exercises, we started warming up with the ball.

We started with a light running shot. Next, free throws to get a feel for the set shot. Finally, the three-point shot …… was not good enough. I was so frustrated that I decided to tap in the rebound and throw it in. …… Well, there you have it.

[It’s fine now, Senpai.]

[Let’s do it then. Our practice starts at one o’clock, but we get there about fifteen minutes before. Therefore it’s about ten minutes or so now.]

If that’s the case, we’ll switch offense and defense and play three games each.

One-on-one is a game as the name suggests. It’s not a competition or a game like three-on-three, it’s just a practice to prepare for a one-on-one in front of the goal.

I stood on the three-point line in front of the ring, and Madoka Senpai stood across from me.

[Let’s show Tsukasa what you’re made of.]

[……]

I’m going to do that without being told, but I don’t want to be told every time.

I made a one-handed bounce pass without saying a word, and Senpai immediately returned it. In this way, the ball is passed back and forth like a greeting, a signal, or a ritual before the start.

Madoka senpai returned the ball and closed the gap between us. I faked and shook Madoka-senpai, then immediately returned the leg I had put out and got into the shooting position.

(Wow, that was fast. ……)

As expected, Madoka-senpai’s movements were much faster than I had expected. She had already blocked the shooting course. But now that she’s jumped over the line, she’s all mine. I broke through the side and shot a layup. By the time Senpai landed and looked back, the ball had already gone through the ring. 

[Nachi-kun, that was amazing!]

Katase senpai cheered from the other side.

I was just trying to make up for my loss of honor and get my name back, but to be honest, I was embarrassed when Katase senpai was so impressed.

[Wow, you’re really good, Nacchi. I thought it was just for fun, but you faked it twice and just went full throttle. You’re so fast. Is that the difference between boys and girls?]

[I’m sorry. I got carried away.]

[No problem, no problem. Instead, I’ll be serious from here on out.]

[……]

She is saying scary things.

No, it was a disastrous defeat.

I was beaten, completely and utterly.

In the end, I only took the first game. In short, if Madoka Senpai were to get serious, I would be no match for her.

[Really, how fast are you. I can barely keep up with you.]

That’s what Madoka-senpai said. How can she say that? She wouldn’t let me shoot or dribble properly, and to top it all off, the shots I forced her to take were off, and all the rebounds were lost in the goal. It was a complete defeat.

[It was inspiring. Come hang out with me again.]

[I politely decline. I don’t think I can win no matter how many times I try.]

[Nacchi is surprisingly stingy.]

I don’t want to hear that from someone who is 496 times more stingy than me. (TN: Not sure why this number. )

[It’s already late. I can’t show my face around the club if I keep playing with outsiders.]

[Then I’m going home too.]

It was Katase Senpai who said that.

Senpai had already picked up her bag from the floor, and when Madoka senpai replied, “Oh, see you later”, she smiled and walked away.

As the two of us watched her go, I was slapped on the back with a bang. That hurts.

[Don’t you have to chase after her?]

[Huh? But if I get too close, it’s not going to be good.]

I’m sure Madoka senpai knows the circumstances.

[What a boring guy]

[Even if you say that..]

I sat down on the floor and started to untie my shoes, which were tied tightly.

[What a waste, you just threw away my generosity…….]

[Generosity?]

[Yeah. Wouldn’t it be interesting to bring two people who are pretending not to know each other closer together?]

What kind of generosity is that? It’s none of your business.

It was just before one o’clock in the afternoon.

It would be almost two o’clock when I get home, so I decided to stop by the supermarket on my way home to buy some ingredients for lunch and dinner. What was in the fridge? As I was putting on my shoes and walking out of the gate, I tried to remember.

[You and Madoka sure are close……]

[Waa!?]

A voice called out to me from a blind spot behind a shoebox

I was so surprised that I jumped and screamed pitifully as I turned around to see Katase Senpai standing there leaning against the shoe rack. She was looking at me with a pouty face and cold, reproachful eyes.

[S,Senpai?]

[Close enough to be called” Nacchi” and “Madoka”, right?]

No, no, I didn’t call anyone by their names.

[The reason for this is that she said it is difficult for her to be called “Shihodo-senpai”…]

[In addition, the two of you were sticking so close to each other.]

Senpai continued as if to interrupt my words. I don’t think she’s listening to what I’m saying.

Sticking? Is she talking about that headlock? I think that’s just Madoka senpai being a violent and rowdy person.

[Don’t blame me if someone starts a strange rumor around okay]

When I said that, she turned her head away with a pout, with her mouth puckered up. I think it was the same at the gym, but it’s gotten worse since then.

[Um……, are you angry about something again?]

[ I’m not angry!!]

You’re angry no matter how you look at it from 360 degrees.

But what’s different than usual is that she doesn’t say it to your face and denies it out loud.

[And besides…]

Is there still more?

[I was cheering for you, but you didn’t notice at all, did you?]

Ugh. I didn’t notice that.

So it’s my fault again after all. I am an idiot, a moron, and a squid…

[I’m sorry, ……. I seem to lose sight of my surroundings when I become absorbed.]

I had no choice but to honestly apologize for this.

Senpai looked at me with a blank stare, and then let out a sigh.

[That’s enough.]

[ ?]

[I know that’s what happens when you focus too hard, Nachi-kun.]

Does that mean she’s forgiven me.?

[Oh, Nachi-kun, your tie is crooked. I’ll fix it for you.]

[Eh? Oh, was it when I took it off a while ago? I’ll fix it myself……. Geh]

She pretended to fix my tie and then tightened my neck. She still seems to be angry.

[fu~there..]

Saying that Senpai started to walk away. She looked like she was sulking again, but unlike before, she didn’t have a stern look on her face. I’m sure she felt better after choking me and saying what she wanted to say.

When she reached the entrance door, Senpai stopped in her tracks.

[Nachi-kun, aren’t you going home?]

And turned around to look at me.

[No. I thought it would be a bad idea to be seen together with you.]

[Oh, is that so?]

She said as if she had just realized it.

I wonder if you’re okay, senpai. As I was thinking that she is not aware of the fact that she is the center of attention, she started to look around.

[It seems there are not many people left at this time. Is it wrong if I go home with you?]

Katase-senpai looked at me with a slightly upturned gaze and asked me shyly.

That was very destructive.

I think that expression is foul.

Now it was my turn to look around. Sure enough, there were no students around. I guessed that everyone had gone home, and those who were still there were attending club activities.

[ W..well, now’s not a bad time, I guess?]

[I’m glad..]

The one who should be happy should be me because I’ll be able to stay with Katase senpai for a little while longer. But then I remembered something.

[Ah…….]

[What? Something wrong?]

[I have to stop by the supermarket on my way home.]

I thought to myself, “What am I saying at such a great opportunity?”. It was as if I was looking for a reason why we couldn’t be together, which was the exact opposite of what I wanted.

[If I don’t buy something, I won’t have anything to eat for lunch or dinner.]

[Eh? Perhaps are you living alone, Nachi-kun?]

[ Yes, my mother went along with my father when he was transferred to a new job.]

[Hmmm. I see.]

As she said that, she put her index finger on her chin, wandered her gaze in the air, and started to think about something.

At this point, I didn’t have any bad premonitions. Partly because she didn’t have her usual mischievous look on her face when she found something interesting, but probably also because it was a genuine act of kindness with no deep meaning or ulterior motive.

Then Katase senpai asked me a question.

[Then, do you want to come to my house? I can treat you to a simple lunch at least.]

[Eh..]

I bet I was looking up at the house with an idiotic expression on my face.

A beautiful mansion with a stylish structure on a plot of land that was a size larger than the average Japanese home. That was Katase Senpai’s house.

[What’s wrong]

Senpai called out to me as I was standing outside looking up at the mansion.

[Oh, no, I just thought it was a beautiful house.]

[It’s because It was renovated just last year. The house was designed by my father, he’s a bit of a famous architectural designer.]

 she said with a hint of pride in her voice.

So it’s what you call a designer house. That’s cool. My house is big, but it’s old, so I long for something like this.

Katase Senpai opened the gate and went inside.

(So this is senpai’s house ……)

That thought alone made me nervous.

Well, still there will be people at home, and it won’t be just the two of us, so there’s no need to get nervous.

I told myself that and relaxed my nerves.

[Oh, don’t worry, Nachi-kun. No one is at home today.]

No, no, it’s not okay at all!

[Hah……]

I couldn’t help but exclaim in admiration.

The inside was as beautiful as the outside. The living room, kitchen, and dining room formed a single space without any obstructions, so it was extremely spacious. I guess one of the reasons why I feel this way is because I can enjoy the view of the garden from all the windows.

I’ve never seen a house with a spiral staircase in the living room before.

[It’s so spacious……]

That is exactly the impression I had.

[It’s just made to look that way. In reality, it’s not so different from a normal house.]

Senpai smiled and replied to my childish impression.

That’s true, but I believe it is the skill of a designer to make the most out of limited space or to make it look bigger even if it is just an illusion.

[Just sit there.]

Senpai told me, who was standing there just dazed.

Senpai is in the kitchen. Naturally, there is a table for eating in the dining room, but there is also a kind of counter seat in the kitchen. The kitchen has been arranged in a way that makes it easy to use, and I’m sure it will be fun to cook in.

[Here you go.]

Senpai offered me an iced tea.

[Excuse me for a bit. I’m going to go change first, so please drink it and relax.]

[Oh, yes. Thank you for the tea.]

Then I finally sat down on the sofa.

After serving me the tea, she walked lightly up the spiral staircase to the second floor. There were several doors in the upstairs corridor looking up from the living room, so I guessed one of them was her room.

[Bu~…Gehegoho…….]

I almost spit out my tea and coughed.

[You don’t have to drink it in such a hurry.]

[I’m sorry, …….]

There’s no way I can say that I almost saw something I shouldn’t have when I was casually following Katase-senpai up the stairs.

Why do girls make the skirts of their uniforms so short? No, it’s not that I don’t like it or that it’s weird, it’s just a pure question. I’m also a guy, so I like it when it’s short. But when it’s Katase-senpai, it’s kind of extremely aggressive.

I was left alone in the living room with nothing to do, so I turned my attention to the garden. It was a big yard, and to my surprise, there was a basketball court. However, it was still just Japanese land. There was only one goal. It wouldn’t even take up half a court. The best you can do is free throw lanes, plus a few extras. So it’s completely a product of a personal hobby.

[Sorry to make you wait. I’ll make you something soon.]

I didn’t have to wait long before a voice came down from upstairs.

I reflexively turned to look in the direction of the voice but decided against it. If her skirt was too short again, it would be bad. After confirming with my ears that senpai had come down, I finally looked at her.

[……]

Essentially, the vectors were the same.

 A top with bare shoulders and low-rise denim shorts. Shoulders bare, belly button exposed. Even though the school uniform had been replaced by casual clothes, the high level of exposure remained the same. The only difference is the legs or the upper body.

(This is bad for my heart, senpai. ……)

Without knowing the burden on my spiritual core, she left the living room and headed for the kitchen.

[Nachi-kun, is Omu-rice okay for you?]

She asked me, peering into the refrigerator.

[I don’t mind it. I’m the one being treated. You don’t need to be extravagant.]

[Well, that’s good. I’m pretty good at making Omu-rice, though that’s the only thing I can make with what I have.]

Katase Senpai smiled confidently behind the counter.

[Well, I’ll be looking forward to it] 

[Yes, please do.]

Senpai immediately began to work.

Soon the food was ready.

[[Itadakimasu.]]

We sat across from each other at the table, joined our hands together in gratitude, and began to eat.

The Omu-rice Katase Senpai made was delicious, just as she claimed to be good at it. I honestly told her that I was impressed.

[This much is no problem for me.]

Senpai said with a smile.

[Since my father is at work, I have no choice but to take care of the house. You will naturally be able to do this with that]

[……]

That means, in other words.

[Yes. As you can imagine, we are a single parent-child family. My father started his own business as an architectural designer at a young age, and he and my mom worked hard together, but I guess all that hard work paid off. My mother died of illness when I was six years old.]

Surprisingly, she said it casually.

[That must have been difficult for you.]

[That’s what everyone tells me.]

Her expression clouded slightly and,

[“That must have been hard”, “I’m sorry you had to go through that”. But in the end, only the one going through it can understand.]

This time, he said sadly.

[…….I’m sorry]

That’s true. There was no way I could understand the difficulties of a single father-child family.

[No, I’m sorry. I’m the one who said it weirdly.]

Senpai smiled and said so, but an awkward silence remained.

We ate the omelet in silence.

There were no words spoken, only the sound of spoons and plates colliding.

[ Oh yeah. So senpai’s yard includes a basketball court, right?]

Looking for something to talk about to fill the silence, I remembered the goal in the garden and mentioned it to her.

[Yes. It’s my father’s hobby. I’m sure there’s a ball in the shed. Do you want to check it out later?]

[Ah, I might want to touch it. I think I’ll practice a little more seriously. I was beaten to a pulp by Madoka Senpai today. Then in a rematch…eh!? ]

I was kicked in the shins from the front.

The kicker continued to eat as if nothing had happened. It was a little scary. ……

[……]

[……]

I found myself in an even more awkward situation than before.

What the heck is that about?

After lunch, Katase senpai pulled out a ball from the storage room and I played with it for a while.

[My father played basketball until high school. So when we renovated the house last year, this was built. But looks like he can only use it to exercise a little on his days off.]

That’s probably about it, I figured.

The place had a fatal flaw even before its size. It was the fact that the ground was grass. When the ground is grass, the ball doesn’t bounce at all. When I came here, I tried to play with the ball, but it was too hard to dribble, and I could only shoot.

[Nachi-kun, are you not going to join the basketball team?]

Katase-senpai asked me as I was shooting.

She was sitting in the open window of the living room, watching me play with a ball nearby.

[Me? Hmm, with my height, I wonder… tto]

The ball rebounded and almost went into the flower pot, and I rushed to pick it up.

The ball rebounded and almost went into a flower pot, and I rushed to pick it up.

[The guys who want to play basketball in high school are all big and talented. I’m not as good as them.]

[That’s right. Nachi-kun is indeed… small, but you are very good at it. You know, even that time, after you jumped, you did this, did this and… ]

While saying this, Senpai raised and lowered her right arm.

[ Hmm? Oh, the double-clutch? That’s an advanced technique, but if you’re good at it, you can pull it off.]

I tilted my head at the question that suddenly arose.

I’m not sure when the “that time” is that the senpai refers to. Today, when I had a one-on-one with Madoka-senpai, I didn’t do the double-clutch. If that is the case, then the only time I did it with senpai around was at …….

[Huh? Senpai, were you watching the Three on Three at lunchtime sometime ago?]

[Yes, I watched it. ]

[Wow, I hadn’t noticed that at all.]

I thought she hadn’t been paying attention to me at all, and that she had only noticed me after the commotion at the end.

[I told you, didn’t I? I know that when Nachi-kun is absorbed in something, he loses sight of his surroundings.]

[……]

I was the one who hadn’t paid attention. It’s not that it is a big deal.

[Hey, Nachi-kun, how many free throws can you make in a row?

[Free throws? I don’t know. I think I can make five or six.]

As I answered, I tried to shoot one.

It hit the ring and made a loud noise, but I managed to score a goal.

[Hmmm. …… So, ten shots. If you score ten in a row, I’ll kiss you.]

[Whoa~uha! What’s with the sudden suggestion?]

I was chasing the ball, and I almost fell over.

[Isn’t it fine? …. Or What is it Nachi-kun? You’re a boy, but you don’t have the will to challenge?]

[Mu..]

Senpai, you are a very challenging opponent.

Aside from the mysterious prize, there was no way I was not going to do it. With a feeling that had become ingrained in my body over the years, I took a distance of 4.6 meters from the goal. I took a distance of 4.6 meters from the goal.

The first pitch was …….

Gun!

The ball was deflected by the ring and missed spectacularly…

[No, senpai, …….]

[Yes, yes. That’s just for practice.]

Senpai laughed and said ahead of time.

After some negotiation, I was allowed to practice only five strokes.

I believe that even at the junior high school level, ten shots in a row is not that difficult. In the five practice runs, I had to make a good shot by the third throw and trace it in the remaining two throws. If you let your body memorize that feeling, it is quite possible.

Now let’s get down to business.

Once again, I made my first throw…….

The ball shot through the ring with a sputtering sound.

[Nice Shot!]

Senpai clapped her hands and shouted with joy.

The ball rolled across the ground and returned to me. When I shoot, if I have a good snap of the wrist and the ball goes through the ring without touching it, it will come back to me because of the rotation. From this point on, I felt that I had an ideal shot.

The second through sixth throws followed the same trajectory and went through the ring.

On the seventh throw, it hit the ring and gave me a scare, but after circling the edge of the ring twice, it fell inward. I had never counted before, but this was probably a new personal best.

On the eighth throw, I was able to correct the deviated trajectory, and on the ninth throw, I was able to make the ideal shot again.

The tenth and final throw.

I put a lot of energy into the grass, which doesn’t bounce very much, and tried to dribble the ball, trying to unify my mind.

But then, an unexpected interruption came.

[Nachi-kun, you have one more shot. If you do, you’ll be rewarded with a kiss.]

[Eh……?]

I was so focused on the task of making ten …… free throws in a row that I completely forgot about it.

Are you serious?

I should have asked her, but I was too scared to ask her. In fact, I couldn’t even look at her face properly.

No, I didn’t need to ask that, it was a joke. I’m sure it is… But there are two prior offenses. Perhaps it’s not so obvious. If by some chance, she was serious, it would be a question of whether it was his mouth or his cheek. Which is it, exactly?

[……]

 Wait a minute, me. What are you thinking about seriously? This is a trap set by Senpai to make me upset. You need to calm down once again. Okay, I’ll think of something else. What’s next after six, twenty-eight, and four hundred and ninety-six? …… Yeah, no. I can’t remember.

[……]

I’ve been kissed twice now, by the way. The first time was when I was unable to move, and the second time was when I was not conscious. How is it possible for a guy to be …… like that all the time? You’re too vulnerable.

[……]

Damn, why is this happening?  Well, it was my fault for hanging around for lunch, I guess. Even if the lunch was great, I’m going to have to go shopping for dinner. Beware.

 …….

 …….

 …….

I’m already feeling a bit goofy.

(Anyway, shoot with a clear mind …….)

I swallowed my spit with a gulp.

And then–

[…….]

[Ara arara]

The shot, which was not of the clear mind but full of distractions, did not touch the ring in a different sense. 

[It’s a shame, then another time..~♪]

Senpai said as if she was singing.

I had mixed feelings, disappointed and relieved.

I wondered to what extent her kiss as a reward had been serious. Of course, I was too scared to ask.


TN: That sure took me a while ..32 pages were a headache.. Madoka is playing cupid and Tsukasa is continuing to pout. And her challenge. It is getting interesting. I’m looking forward to future developments.

On another note, the poll is over and went exactly as I predicted. So we are going Live today.. 😛 Yeah, that’s what’s happening. You can look forward to more details in Update later. I’ll add a link below as well. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

https://discord.gg/EzugXDv7fy

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER


Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

4 thoughts on “V1C3 Part 3

  1. I’m just gonna choose to believe he only has bruised ribs.
    I’m totally with his buddy ichiya saying that that was annoying. If someone throws money at me and demands I turn around and be their gofer, I’d tell em to fuck right off. Don’t care who it is, that’s damn disrespectful. That’s just common sense unless you’re a little bitch, which this MC seems to be.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started