C36 – Date Invitation ◇ Hiria

Let’s accept and assimilate Sakura-kun as a part of Nekura-kun.

Once I changed my way of thinking, I felt much better.

I was more than happy that I didn’t have to lose the feelings I had for Nekura-kun. It’s fun to be in love.

During recess, the girls were surrounding Sakura-kun.

As usual, most of the girls were just talking and nodding to each other, but somehow, there was a difference in the glamour and energy of the place when he was not there.

Sakura-kun stood in the center of the room with a calm face as usual and occasionally said a few words when asked something. He’s used to it.

But when I think of Nekura-kun, he just looks like he’s struggling to cope.

But what is this? I don’t care that Sakura-kun is surrounded, but when I think of Nekura-kun, it’s very, very…

I got up from my seat with a bewildered feeling and went to the place.

“Sakura-kun, Masuda-sensei wants to see you.”

He looked up quickly and said, “Okay,” and left the circle. I really don’t feel like he’s like that on the inside when I see him like this. The only thing he’s good at is his poker face. So even if he doesn’t give a good answer, people will say that he is ‘guarded’. Well, I guess he is. But for a different reason than people think.

As he was leaving the classroom and heading for the staff room, I said to him,

“Sakura-kun, this way.”

He stopped in the middle of a corridor a little further down the hall.

“…where are we going?”

“The library.”

“Where’s Masuda-sensei?”

“That was a lie.”

“…”

Sakura-kun gaped, then blushed needlessly and covered his mouth with one hand.

This guy used to make this face on the other side of the bookshelf. There used to be a weird pause in the library, but I couldn’t tell at that time.

The image I have of Sakura-kun is of him raising his eyebrows in trouble and smiling bitterly. Compared to Nekura-kun, he seemed to have a more relaxed pace. But this reaction is still Nekura-kun. In this way, I tried to match the images that might diverge if I’m not careful. Getting closer and closer.

When I asked “huh, was it unpleasant?”, he averted his gaze quite a bit and then whispered “I’m glad”, so it seems that he likes me as Hiria-chan. I don’t know if he likes me as Saionji-san though.

I’ve always liked Nekura-kun, and I’m still not sure about Sakura-kun.

But now that I know his name and face and can talk to him, I want to think that it’s not all bad.

In the middle of the corridor, I looked around and whispered.

“Sakura-kun, turn your back to me.”

The reason we need to stand back-to-back is so that we can’t see each other’s faces.

“Saku… Nekura-kun.”

I rephrased it as wishful thinking to avoid being rejected.

“Yes.”

“Are you free on Sunday?”

“…”

“Um, somewhere… With just the two of us.”

“…”

Of course, there are drawbacks to being back to back.

I can’t see his face, and I can’t tell anything when he’s quiet.

Even though it was meant to reassure me, I feel uneasy. Even though we are back to back, I already know that it is Sakura Souji who is there.

Nekura-kun, who was in love with me, has changed his form and no longer exists in the form he used to.

Compared to Nekura-kun, Sakura-kun somehow seems to be more guarded. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s Sakura-kun, but maybe it’s the same for everyone once you meet the real thing.

“Ah, maybe you have a part-time job… or something…”

I couldn’t stand the silence anymore, so I quickly prepared an escape route. My voice sounded terribly listless.

“Even if you don’t have it… you can help out at home right…?”

“I’m free.”

A scratchy voice came back to me as though it were a shroud.

“…O..Ok.”

My cheek relaxed a little in relief.

“I’m glad…”

“Eh?”

“I thought you were going to refuse…”

“Why?!”

What do you mean ‘Why?’ after staying silent like that… or so I thought, but thinking back, I realized that Nekura-kun had always been like this.

“Saio… Hiria-chan.”

“Y-yes”

Sakura-kun called out and then became silent again.

Then there was a deep inhale and exhale, and he was silent again.

“I-I feel like I can only say this only once, so I hope you don’t miss it…”

“Yeah, I’ll do my best.”

There would be no sudden fireworks at this time. Still, I listened carefully to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

“I like Hiria-chan, but…”

“…Ha”

Nekura-kun… Nekura-kun told me that he likes me. That’s great. He worked really hard. I’m happy. But it’s still not over yet. I almost shouted, but hurriedly held it in with my palm.

“I’m sure I’ll fall in love with Saionji-san too.”

“…”

“Probably quite easily…”

I was embarrassed, but I felt happy.

If Nekura-kun could like not only Hiria but also Yuria, how could I not be happy?

However, I felt so embarrassed and unbearable that I thought about running away. But I thought better of it and decided against it.

Even though I had stopped myself from doing so…

Sakura-kun ran away at full speed.

He used his prized leg strength to run away like the wind.


TN: This… These moments are what I do this series for…

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

One thought on “C36 – Date Invitation ◇ Hiria

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started