V2 – Episode 54 – Queen

Chapter 5 – To Move Forward

Volume 2


“Oh, yeah. Don’t you have to do the shopping? I didn’t bring anything with me.”

Without cooking utensils and ingredients, there was nothing I could do. When I cleaned Enami-san’s place before, I threw away a lot of stuff.

“That’s no problem. I’ve already bought everything. All we have to do is make it.”

“…What did you buy, by the way?”

“I bought rice, green onions, eggs… and other things I might need. I have frying pans and pots.”

“Condiments?”

“Salt, soy sauce, pepper, vinegar.”

“Then no problem.”

Maybe she looked up the recipe beforehand. If she bought all the ingredients listed in the recipe, she couldn’t have made a mistake.

“Besides, I have a pretty good idea of what you plan to make. I’ve made that dish many times before, so I’m confident.”

After failing once, I practiced a few times. Now, I can make it without looking at anything.

“I’m glad to hear that… Because I have high hopes for you.”

But today, I’m just helping out. Enami-san is the one who actually does the work. I can stop her if she tries something strange, or even take over if something goes wrong. That would be better for Enami-san as well.

Cooking is all about getting used to it. It may need some skill, but anyone can learn to cook if they practice enough… However, if you look at my family, there is a possibility that it’s wrong.

“By the way, Enami-san. Have you ever cooked before?”

“Do you think I have?”

“…I don’t think so.”

I can’t imagine her standing in the kitchen. If anything, she would look better lying down right in front of someone who is doing the hard work of cooking.

“In fact, it’s true. I’ve never even thought of cooking. Basically, I buy food and eat it. I don’t think I’ve ever even held a knife.”

“What did you do in home economics class? You’re forced to hold a knife there.”

“It’s something that kids who are proactive at it want to do. If you just stare at them, they’ll do it on their own.”

“I wonder if that can be called proactive…”

Well, actually, just the mere fact that Enami-san gives a daunting pose is very intimidating. If I were to say to such a person, “Cut those stuff” I would imagine myself being cut up.

“I’m really not good at that kind of thing. It requires a lot of work right. All that peeling and chopping is insane.”

“What about me, who does it every day!?”

“That’s amazing. You must be a masochist.”

“It’s a necessary skill for at least one in a family. Did you forget why I’m here today?”

“No, I haven’t forgotten. It was just a joke.”

Cooking itself is manageable once you learn to do it, but whether you like it or not maybe a talent. In fact, Sayaka and my father gave up on it halfway through.

“You’re not going to continue to cook…?”

“Who knows…”

A vague reply. But it’s not that she’s not interested at all, I guess. If she wasn’t, she wouldn’t have thought of cooking for her mother like this.

“I guess I’ll have to think about that as well from now on.”

Her words were surprisingly positive. I think that Enami-san herself feels that she can’t go on like this. I’m only a little involved, but it’s up to her to solve the Enami family’s problems.

As a stranger, I can’t go beyond a certain point.

“At least do it properly in home economics class from now on, since home economics is only up to the second year.”

“Eeh…”

“You’ve decided to take classes seriously. You have to take home economics also seriously.”

“Isn’t this and that different things? I don’t really like that sensei.”

“That’s not the point.”

By the way, the home economics teacher is a feeble-looking woman. She is small in stature and wears large glasses. She seems to flinch at the slightest complaint from Enami-san.

“Well, can’t help it… Next time, I’ll at least wash the vegetables.”

“…that’s enough.”

Even if I were to say something strongly, I doubt anything more could be said. I’m sorry, sensei…

If you go past the parking lot and turn the corner, Enami-san’s apartment is just around the corner. Thanks to the many times I’ve walked past it, I know the route by heart. A few stray cats were hanging out in front of a house. Maybe they were being fed by the people who lived there.

“Cute.”

“Eh?”

I mumbled, to which Enami-san replied with a look of disbelief.

“…It’s a cat. Isn’t it cute?”

“I didn’t misunderstand that. I mean, they’re not cute at all. They look dirty and I don’t want anything to do with them.”

Being a stray cat, its hair was disheveled and dirty. However, its beady eyes and occasional mewling sound were not filthy at all.

“Why don’t you understand? Nine out of ten people would think it’s cute.”

“No, they won’t. What are you talking about?”

“No, cats are creatures that everyone thinks are cute. Nobody says cats are disgusting.”

“When I leave the house in the morning, these guys creep me out. I’m used to seeing them. I don’t even know where they get their cuteness from.”

“It was stupid of me to expect that kind of sentiment from Enami-san.”

The moment I said those words, Enami-san lightly kicked me in the shin. While I was holding my leg, Enami-san left me behind and walked quickly into the entrance.

Just as the automatic door was about to close, I heard a voice say, “Hurry up”.

I let out a sigh.

I shouldn’t have said anything unnecessary.


TN: Hmm… I wonder if someone mistook the “cute” for a compliment.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

One thought on “V2 – Episode 54 – Queen

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started