V2 – Episode 46 – Rice porridge

Chapter 5 – To Move Forward

Volume 2


The first dish I learned to cook was rice porridge.

I had never cooked before, and I didn’t even know how to make an omelet. It’s hard to believe now, but that’s how dependent I was on my mother.

During my depression, both Sayaka and my father tried their hand at cooking. However, both of them were fatally clumsy, and the meals they brought me were always pre-made. This continued for a while after I came back to normal, but there came a time when this was not possible.

Sayaka fell ill.

Her fever was around 38 degrees. I took her to the hospital and got her some medicine to control her symptoms, but it seemed she could hardly eat. That’s when the classic porridge came into play. So, I stood in front of the kitchen and was astonished to find that I had no idea what to do.

–To begin with, I had never cooked rice before.

What was always brought to the table was soft rice with steam rising from it. But I don’t know how the milled rice grains become like that. I suppose I could boil the rice in water, but how much rice and how much water should I put in?

Immediately I looked it up on the Internet. There was a lot of mixed information, and I didn’t know which one to use. First, I cleaned a cup of rice and put it in the pot. I filled the pot with water to the right level and turned on the heat.

Sprinkle some salt and bring the water to a boiling level. I put the eggs and green onions in the pot, and then put the lid on the pot.

It was surprisingly hard work. I had thought that porridge was not a big dish. No, it really wasn’t a big dish, but maybe I just felt that way because I wasn’t used to it.

After about half an hour, I thought it was enough and turned off the heat. I tried to eat it, but it was almost tasteless. I added more salt and tore up some dried plums. When I put it in a bowl, I realized I had made a mistake.

–The amount was too much.

It was too much for one person with little appetite to eat. I had no idea how much a cup of rice was. It was too little when I put it in the cup, so I was careless.

I had no choice but to pour some of it into a bowl for myself to eat later. I put the spoon on a tray and carried it to Sayaka’s room.

She was lying on her bed, sweating. She had already slept a lot, so she didn’t feel sleepy anymore, or so she had said earlier.

(What’s that?)

She seemed to have noticed the smell when I entered the room. I replied, (It’s porridge).

Sayaka was very surprised.

(Eh? Why? Oniichan made it?)

She raised her upper body and stared at what was in my hand. It can’t be that bad looking. I put the tray on the desk.

Sayaka crawled out of bed, wrapped herself in a blanket, and said,

(Oh, it’s proper porridge.)

(What did you think it was?)

(No, I thought it was a genetic condition that prevented us from cooking anything. You’re different.)

Sayaka, who still called me “Oniichan”, looked at me with a sparkling gaze. I remember being a little proud of myself.

(If one looks on the internet, anyone can do this.)

(Okay, okay.)

(Go back to bed, I’ll feed you.)

(No, that’s all right.)

(What are you talking about when you’re that dizzy? )

Her face is red, and her eyes look sunken in. Her body was swaying slightly as if she was unsteady on her feet.

Reluctantly, Sayaka returned to bed. I walked over to the side of the bed with the bowl and spoon. After scooping up the porridge and puffing it, I brought it to her mouth.

Her mouth took in only a small amount. She must have really had no appetite.

She chewed for a while, and then she said something.

(It’s too salty and sour.)

She blatantly frowned. Maybe I used too much salt the second time.

( Is that so….? )

(Here, oniichan, you should try some of this.)

She thrust it into my mouth. I tried it, and it was just as she had said.

(Sorry…)

(It’s genetic as I thought.)

–I thought it wasn’t that bad…

I was so focused on the quantity failure that I forgot about the taste.

(If the taste was too light it could have been fixed. But it can’t be fixed if it’s too strong… I’ll go back and make it again.)

(No, it’s fine.)

Sayaka said.

She took the bowl from my hand and started to eat quietly by herself. To be honest, I don’t think she can eat when she doesn’t have an appetite, but she didn’t stop eating. Perhaps she was being considerate in her own way.

It was frustrating. I resolved to make something delicious next time.

In the end, Sayaka ate the entire bowl of porridge. She ate it as if she was stuffing herself, so she must have been straining herself.

(You really ate it all. )

(Well, kind of.)

She thrust the bowl back at me, turned her face away, and laid down. Even though it was a failure, I was glad I made it since she ate it properly.

I left Sayaka’s room and returned to the kitchen. After washing the dishes, I faced the remaining porridge.

–I guess I’ll just have to eat it.

It wouldn’t have been a problem if it had tasted good, but with the way it tasted, I wasn’t sure if I could finish it all.

I stuck a spoon into the pot and tried to eat it directly. It still didn’t taste good.

–But how could I not eat it when she had already finished it?

It took me about half an hour, but I finished the porridge.

It was a memory from about four years ago.


TN: Start of final chapter of Vol 2.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

2 thoughts on “V2 – Episode 46 – Rice porridge

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started