V2 – Episode 42 – Blank

Chapter 4 – Persuading Mother Enami

Volume 2


Naoya Ookusu: But doesn’t it increase the risk of being found out if you change your workplace from time to time?

One day, it might end up at a place where our school’s students and teachers go. Enami-san’s house is within walking distance from the school. Even if she were to travel far for her part-time job, I didn’t think she would have several convenient places to go.

Risa Enami: The opposite actually. It’s riskier to work at the same place all the time.

Naoya Ookusu: Why?

In the first place, it’s troublesome to go out of your way to quit or find a new part-time job. If it were me, I’d never switch.

Risa Enami: Staying in the same place for a long time will be troublesome, always

Naoya Ookusu: I don’t understand. What do you mean?

Since it’s Enami-san, maybe she doesn’t fit in with the group life. However, what was said was not about that.

Risa Enami: For example, let’s say you’re at a karaoke bar and you’re serving juice. Then, drunken salarymen would get involved with you in strange ways. They would say things like, “You’re cute,” or “Tell me your contact information”. Gradually, rumors start to spread, and the type of people you don’t like start to come to you.

Naoya Ookusu: So that’s how it is.

Then it’s understandable. Enami-san is a famous person at school. No matter how unsociable she is, she has an aura that she can’t hide. If such a person is unleashed on the general public, it is bound to be troublesome.

Risa Enami: It’s not just the customers. There are times when the people I work with also come on to me. I don’t want to get caught up in a romance that I don’t really understand. So if I see even the slightest sign of trouble, I just leave. Just as far as I can count, I’ve changed at least ten times.

The same thing was happening at our school as well. However, the difference from school is that it is easy to relocate jobs. I suppose it’s natural to change since she must have felt she was in danger.

Risa Enami: I don’t know why, but when people of the same age get together at a part-time job, they like to form line groups. I don’t need to exchange contact information because I talk about my shifts with the manager and I don’t have the opportunity to ask anyone to switch shifts. I don’t need to exchange contact information with them.

Naoya Ookusu: I think I understand what you mean.

Risa Enami: That’s why most of the time, nothing good comes out of it. Understand?

I realized that beautiful women have their own struggles.

Naoya Ookusu: I think it’s simply because you can’t talk to people properly, Enami-san…

I typed it thinking that she would probably get angry at me for saying this anyway. However, Enami-san’s reply after that was surprisingly indifferent.

Risa Enami: Yes, yes.

Naoya Ookusu: What’s with that reaction?

Risa Enami: I’m used to being told that, so I just don’t think about it anymore. Yes, yes, my apologies, I’m not very good at socializing.

Naoya Ookusu: You should try a little harder…

Risa Enami: Of course not. What good does it do to get to know each other? None, right?

Naoya Ookusu: Well, maybe so.

Indeed, in Enami-san’s case, even if she gets along well with others, she might just be prone to getting involved in troublesome situations. I hear that women are more serious about love. If two women fall in love with the same person, but only one gets to be in a relationship with the other party, they will not get along well. Even without that, if Enami-san smiles, a lot of guys will approach her, which will cause an unpleasant reaction from other girls.

Naoya Ookusu: Well, I understand about your part-time job. Don’t push yourself too hard. It would be a shame to be late since the teacher’s opinion of you has just started to improve.

Risa Enami: I guess so.

I don’t want to get into trouble either, but this is the path I’m on, and I want to do what I can.

Naoya Ookusu: Nishikawa and I are here, too. If you need anything, we’re here to help you.

So I typed a message like that.

The message was immediately read.

However, there was no response for a while.

The sound of the clock ticking. A minute or two passed, but the phone didn’t tremble. Just a moment ago, I received a reply within a minute at the latest. I was worried that I had said something strange, so I read my message again, but there was nothing strange.

–Did she fall asleep?

Enami-san is a fickle person. That could well be the case. About five minutes later, just as I was about to give up, my phone suddenly shuddered.

Risa Enami: Cheeky.

It was a scathing comment, but I could tell that it wasn’t meant in a bad way.

Even though the reply came about five minutes later, I immediately read it, which was strangely embarrassing, as if I had been waiting for a reply all along. I typed the next message as if to cover it up.

Naoya Ookusu: Are you coming to school tomorrow?

There was almost no lag between when the message was read and when the reply arrived.

Risa Enami: I think I will. I’ll wear a mask, though.

Naoya Ookusu: That’s good to hear!

I realized that we had been exchanging messages for almost an hour. I looked up at the clock and saw that it was eleven o’clock. I have to resume my studies soon.

Naoya Ookusu: See you at school tomorrow, then.

Risa Enami: Yeah. Bye.

With that, I put my phone to sleep. I got up from the bed and put an energy drink in my mouth. It was warm because the air conditioner had raised the temperature.

I clapped my face, regained my energy, and turned my attention to the problem set again.


TN: Double chapters today.

Join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/EzugXDv7fy

Ko-fihttps://ko-fi.com/lazytranslator

Visit us on Impatientmtlreader.wordpress.com

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

One thought on “V2 – Episode 42 – Blank

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started