V2 – Episode 40 – Unrest

Chapter 4 – Persuading Mother Enami

Volume 2


The next day, when I went to school, Saito called out to me “Hey”. As usual, he had an erotic novel in his hand. According to what I heard, he was reading at the pace of one book a day. I thought to myself, why doesn’t he put some of that effort into his studies?

“What?”

I asked.

It was after morning SHR. There were about five minutes left until the first-period class started.

“What’s going on with you lately?”

“Eh?”

Before I knew it, Shindo had also raised his head and was looking at me. I wanted to say that if there was anything unusual, it would be you guys reading around like idiots, but I didn’t say it.

“I mean, you don’t come to club activities much.”

“Oh, you mean that? I’ve been going through some stuff.”

In the first place, I thought that it was those two who hadn’t come to the club activities. However, when I listened to him carefully, I heard that he has been showing up at the club room recently.

Speaking of which, I can’t finish cleaning Enami-san’s house like this. I didn’t want to spend too much time on it because it would be a burden on Fujisaki. Enami-san was absent again today. From the way she looked yesterday, she seemed to have a serious condition. She may not be able to recover soon.

I wonder if Nishikawa is going to visit her again today. I had a feeling that Nishikawa might, but I decided not to go today. If I caught a cold myself, there would be no point.

“Stuff huh. I don’t really know, but the president was lonely without you.”

“He won’t retire until the last minute anyway, so why not just leave him be?”

“That’s true.”

Since he was the head of the club, he would probably continue to play games in the club room until the last day of school. Probably, even if he took the entrance exam to Tohashi University in his current state, he would almost certainly pass.

“Well, I’ll be going to the club in the next week or so. I have some business to attend for this week. Please let the club president know.”

“Yeah. We don’t go every day either, by the way.”

“… So how long is this craze going to last?”

“Hmm? Oh, you mean this novel?”

“Yeah, that one.”

Because both Shindo and Saito are reading erotic novels together, people might think that I’m in the same boat as them. In fact, I didn’t read any of them at school. Even if it’s not at school, I don’t feel like taking it home with me because there’s a chance that Sayaka will see it.

If she catches me doing that, she’ll make fun of me for the rest of my life.

“You may not understand. There’s a lot of man’s principles here. What’s important in eroticism is not visual. It’s the situation. Situations stir up a man’s libido many times over. Once a man learns that, even if it’s just text, it’s enough to get him excited.”

The talk seemed to be getting longer, so I put my hand out in front of me to interrupt it. I was afraid people would hear me.

“Well, maybe you’re too young to understand. Right, Shindo?”

Shindo nodded ‘that’s right’ with a very serious face.

“That’s right. It’s not a lukewarm craze. It’s about manhood, you know, manhood.”

“Manhood huh”

I was so dumbfounded that I couldn’t even say anything. So far, the teacher hadn’t found out, but it was probably only a matter of time. I’m afraid to imagine what kind of humiliation they’ll be subjected to when the teacher finds out.

“Don’t read too much in class.”

“Don’t worry. It’s just like doing my homework for health and PE class.”

“I hope you can say that to the teacher as well.”

But no matter what I said, the two of them would not stop. Otaku has an amazing ability to concentrate on what they like. They don’t care what others think of them, and they put all their energy into what they find enjoyable. That in itself is not a bad thing.

However, I would like them to suppress the occasional “oohs” and “hoo hoos” of excitement. This is not something that happens in class. But during breaks, they don’t hesitate to let it out.

The clock reached the start of the first period. The sound of the chime rang out.

“Come on, the teacher is almost here.”

“I know.”

Fortunately, the first-period class was modern literature. The modern literature teacher did not pay attention to the students, but only explained things in a rambling manner. First of all, he doesn’t reproach Saito and the others.

But that didn’t mean that they could read erotic novels.

I took out my textbook from my bag and looked at Fujisaki without thinking.

I haven’t talked to Fujisaki yet today. Even though I was back to my normal self, I couldn’t help but feel defensive when I tried to talk to Fujisaki.

There was nothing unusual about Fujisaki. She is chatting with the girls behind her.

Naturally, I’m not dissatisfied with Fujisaki. Normally, I would have jumped up and said, “By all means” the moment she confessed her feelings to me. If I were to talk to anyone about such a problem, I would be strangled to death.

It’s such an extravagant problem.

In the middle of the conversation, the girl behind Fujisaki seemed to have noticed my gaze and pointed at me. Fujisaki’s gaze also turned to me.

My heart skipped a beat.

Our eyes met. I didn’t know what expression to make. An awkwardness lingered in me.

Fujisaki seemed to be troubled, but she immediately smiled.

I could only smile back vaguely.


TN: Osoii..

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started