V3 SS 1 – A Certain Basketball Girl’s Revenge Comedy

Side Story

Volume 3


Let’s go back in time.

It all started when I challenged Akira Miyazato, my rival from junior high school, to a match on the day just after Golden Week.

She had brought along as a teammate a petite boy with short shaggy hair and a cute look – Nachi Chiaki.

She won the 3-on-3 match that time.

However, in terms of individual skills, she was unquestionably a complete loser.

And so, from that day on, the vengeance of Himesaki Neko began.

● ○ ●1st quarter ● ○ ●

The next day at lunchtime, she went to Nachi Chiaki’s classroom in class 7.

She opened the door with a bang.

The classroom was bustling with activity, as it was lunchtime. She walked across the bustling classroom to Nachi Chiaki’s seat.

Then, she pointed her finger at him and said,

[Nachi Chiaki, you’re having a match with me!]

[……]

Nachi Chiaki, who had been eating, stopped moving.

He must have been terrified by the challenge that had suddenly been thrown at him. She was convinced that she was one step ahead mentally.

Chiaki Nachi’s big, beautiful eyes stared at Neko.

[……!]

For a moment, Neko had the urge to take him home with her, but she barely held it back.

(But at least the eyes. ……)

Such a small hope came to her mind.

As if time had moved on, Nachi Chiaki resumed chewing with a mokyu mokyu and swallowed the food in his mouth with a gulp.

[There’s no one there right now. You can sit down if you want.]

[…… yeah, I’ll do that.]

Neko took the chair in front of her as suggested.

[Then?]

Nachi Chiaki urged her to talk.

[Yesterday’s game, we won, right?]

[Yes, you did. It’s a bit annoying to be told this again.]

As he said this, he looked slightly annoyed and put his chopsticks in his lunch box again.

[But I lost to you.]

[Is that so?]

Huh?  Nachi Chiaki held the end of the chopsticks in his mouth and turned his eyes to the ceiling.

[That’s right. I don’t like how things went. So, I’m going to give you a one-on-one match. If I win, you will be my servant for life.]

[For life!]

[Then I’ll get your eyes.]

[I’m scared! Go back! I’ll give you this young chicken tatsutaage, so get the hell out of here!]

As expected, Nachi Chiaki responded to Neko’s challenge with a backhanded rebuke.

It was no use, so Neko decided to come back another day. Also, the fried young chicken tatsutaage was quite tasty.

● ○ ● 2nd Quarter ● ○ ●

Another day–

She once again struck during lunch break.

[ Nachi Chiaki, today’s the day to have a match.]

[Eh?]

He gave her a look of frustration right from the start.

[You look disgusted.]

[Because if I lose, I’ll get my eyes gouged out, right? What kind of tribe are you from?]

[…… Forget about that.]

That’s all Neko said, feeling as if her face would burst into flames.

Even though things had gotten too heated yesterday, she felt ashamed once again that she had made such a maidenly request as wanting eyes on the spur of the moment.

[In exchange, I’ve prepared another condition. If I win, I’ll call you ‘Nattan’. And you will call me ‘Neko-chan♪’ in a cute way.]

[……]

[……]

[…… Sorry, can you say that again?]

[If I win, you will call me ‘Neko-chan’.]

[…… Did you just cut off half of your sentence because you felt embarrassed?]

[It was just your imagination.]

Neko denied it. Or rather, she tried to force through the undeniable fact and pretend it didn’t happen.

[It’s okay, though. …… But that’s just it. You’re a lot more mature than the last time when you trampled on personal dignity and human rights, or the conditions of a serial killer. It’s a good request, if without the competition.]

[No, Don’t say that… All of a sudden ……]

[What are you squirming about, youkai?]

(TN: Youkai: Japanese apparition)

Nachi said coldly while looking at Neko with eyes that contained a hint of anger.

[Well, I’m not going to accept such a condition.]

[Why?]

[The moment I say it, I feel like I’m missing something important as a primate. …… That’s why I’m running away. I’ve got a place to go now. Bye]

After putting away his lunch box, Nachi stood up and raised one hand in a gesture of shooing. The next moment, he was running like a rabbit.

● ○ ● 3rd Quarter ● ○ ●

Third time.

[Nachi Chiaki !]

She opened the door and said at the same time. It was an action that did not take into account the situation that Nachi was not in the classroom.

[Geh, …….]

Nachi had just finished his lunch, it seemed, and he stopped putting his lunch box away in his bag and gave a small grunt.

[Nachi Chiaki, today you will call me ‘Neko-chan’.]

[It’s not even a match anymore, is it? …… Iuchi-san, please take care of the rest.]

With that, Nachi quickly put away his lunch box and headed for the door at the rear of the classroom.

She could see the girl sitting next to him nodding silently at the sound of Nachi’s voice, but Neko didn’t care. She followed Nachi across the classroom.

And then–

From the side of the table, a foot stretched out. It was the foot of a female student called Iuchi.

[Eh ……? Kyaaaahhhh!]

She tripped over a foot that had been placed at the perfect time, making it impossible to avoid, and slid headfirst across the floor. After sliding a distance of about two meters, Neko’s body came to a stop.

[It’s amazing. Did you see that?]

[I saw it. I saw it. It’s a head-slide that would make into a baseball team.]

[Idiot, you should be giving credit to Iuchi-san.]

[ I agree with you. Even a king cobra would have fallen if he got hit like that.]

While people were talking, Neko stood up unsteadily. When she turned around, she saw Iuchi, silent and expressionless, holding up her hand to the cheers of her classmates.

[You….]

[…….]

Angrily, Neko grabbed her.

But Iuchi just looked away in silence. She was staring at a point so intently that Neko’s eyes followed it and found the door to the classroom.

[Ha, damn it. ……]

She finally remembered that she had been chasing Nachi.

[I will pay you back for this]

She paused, thrusting her finger in the air, and started running again.

<Nachi’s POV>

● ○ ● 4th quarter, or belated halftime and court change ● ○ ●

Sunday.

I woke up later than usual and ate a slightly more elaborate meal than usual. Then I did the laundry and cleaned the whole house.

Just eleven o’clock.

[That’s perfect.]

My plan for today was to go to church.

I’ve been asked to help with an upcoming bazaar, so I’m going to have a meeting with the sensei, or rather, I’m going to ask him for some details.

At this rate, I’ll at least have time to go to church in the afternoon.

Anyway, I’m going shopping now. I don’t have anything to eat for lunch. It would be a good idea to do some shopping for the evening as well.

I quickly checked the door and took out my mountain bike. I headed for the supermarket in front of the station.

And that’s where the incident happened.

[Oh!]

In front of the station on a busy holiday, I happened to see a girl with a cute profile, and I couldn’t help but admire her.

As I rode my bicycle, I took a moment to look around.

Then the girl noticed me and said,

[Oh my. What a coincidence to meet you here]

It was you!

[Whoa, whoa, whoa!]

I crashed my bike into the trash can, though I barely hit anyone.

[ Are you not very good at biking?]

Dressed in a light-colored spring dress, she walked over to me and asked in a dumbfounded manner.

[…… No, that’s not the case]

I guess you might think so. As for me, I think I caught a glimpse of the talent of a cyclist when I meandered along and didn’t even graze anyone. You know what I mean. The scene in “Roman Holiday” where Princess Anne rides around on her Vespa.

[You have a melancholy look on your face.]

[…… Well, yeah]

Himesaki-san. You probably don’t realize it, but I’ve just lost to you.

I didn’t expect her to attract my eyes.

I think I should apologize when I see Katase-senpai tomorrow. But I’m sure she won’t understand.

[Don’t look so beaten down, have a match with me.]

Are you trying to catch up with me here and there?

[You know, school is one thing, how do you plan to compete here?]

[That’s also true.]

I’m not sure if we’re talking about a spinal reflex without even thinking about it.

[There are no parks with hoops around here.]

[That’s why basketball hasn’t caught on in Japan, because it’s not so easy to play.]

[I agree with you on that.]

Indeed, basketball cannot become a major sport like baseball or soccer.

The reason for this is that basketball goals are not as easily procured as baseball bats and gloves, and you can’t play without the all-important goal.

However, such a thing can be done with a little ingenuity.

When I was little, I picked up a basketball in the park and have been playing with it ever since, practicing all sorts of things on my own. …… Well, I did break some glass.

But now we don’t even have a ball before devising a way to do it.

[So give it up. See you later.]

I put my foot down on the pedal again and tried to leave the place.

[Wait a minute. We need to talk ]

[Talk? What is it? Keep it short.]

[No, I can’t. I have a few questions I need to ask you. Can’t you find the time?]

She said firmly.

This is typical of Himesaki-san.

[Hmm. I don’t dislike the way you put it so clearly. …… It’s fine. Let’s go somewhere around here and talk over lunch.]

[Lunch? You and I, together?]

Immediately, Himesaki-san began to ponder with a mysterious look on her face.

[It doesn’t mean anything. It’s just that I’m hungry. And I’m not going to make you buy me a drink just because you have something to do with me]

[Then it’s fine. Let’s go.]

With that, she strode off.

I wonder which one of them convinced her. Well, whatever.

About five minutes later, we were at a nearby fast-food restaurant.

We each ordered at the counter.

[I’ll take this one.]

[What are you talking about? I’ll get it.]

[No, I told you I wasn’t going to let you buy me a drink.]

I don’t know if she was listening to me.

[Then I’m not going to ask you to buy me a drink either]

[I don’t think it’s proper for a man to ask someone to buy him a drink or split the bill.]

[That’s something you should worry about when you’re with your girlfriend.]

Himesaki-san choked on some of the words and retorted.

[I see. I’m sure that’s true too. Then we’ll split the bill.]

[I’ll pay for it.]

[Why?]

[Since I stopped you on my own business, it is only natural that I should pay. And of course, if you buy me a drink, even if you split the bill, it’s like admitting defeat.]

[Are you an Idiot.?]

Don’t bring up your weird rivalry in this situation. The conversation is going in circles.

[Excuse me, sir. Other customers are waiting behind you.]

The shopkeeper’s voice interrupted me.

We must be annoying customers, arguing with each other when we are about to pay. As expected, the clerk with the zero-yen smile was annoyed.

[Okay. We’ll just split the bill. No more complaints, please.]

[It can’t be helped. I understand.]

Himesaki-san grudgingly replied. I’m sure she’s not convinced.

After paying the bill separately, I lifted the tray.

[Hey, that includes my portion.]

[I know. I know. And there’s one for me.]

On the tray were two hamburgers, two drinks, and a bag of fries. Two hamburgers, two drinks, and a bag of fries.

[Don’t say anything, Let me have this one on account of I’m a man.]

[Ah, …….]

[Come on, let’s go.]

[Okay, fine. I’ll let you have it.]

[Yeah, yeah. I’m so happy for your consideration, princess.]

Jeez. She’s still a very competitive girl.

We sat down at an empty table, and for a while, we silently munched on our hamburgers.

But, well, I never thought I’d have a chance to talk to Himesaki-san in a relaxed manner like this, after being chased around so much. And we’re having a meal face to face. You never know what the world has in store for you.

As I ate, I looked at Himesaki-san in front of me.

I’ve only ever seen her in her school uniform, so it’s refreshing to see her in casual clothes. She’s eating a rough meal like a hamburger in an elegant manner.

And…

Himesaki-san turned her attention to me.

[Is it true that you were not a regular in junior high school?]

She seemed to have settled down to eat and asked me that.

[It’s true. But how does Himesaki-san know about that?]

[It’s not hard to find out if you ask around.]

[What’s that? Where is the source of your information? Are they from the same junior high school?]

Iuchi-san and I are the only ones in the Advanced Course, but I’m sure there are a few in the Regular Course.

[It’s also possible.]

[Damn. How about privacy protection? ……]

[You can’t expect that from a meek high school girl. I’ve heard many other things about you.]

Fufu… She said triumphantly, 

It was like, just do whatever you want. I couldn’t help but droop in disappointment.

But then I realized.

–many other things?

Does that mean she knows about that too?

If she heard about it from a guy in our junior high school, it wouldn’t be surprising if she heard about it. The rumor has spread quite a bit. A lot of people know about it.

[The source of the information is unimportant. For that matter, is it also true that you were removed from the team because your advisor didn’t like you?]

[Well, I wonder. Indeed, the teacher didn’t like me.]

That’s discrimination in other words.

[But I don’t know if that’s why I couldn’t become a regular. It could simply be that I didn’t have what the advisor wanted.]

[That’s not possible. I don’t know any other player as good as you.]

Himesaki-san said with a strong tone.

[It’s nice of you to appreciate it, but unfortunately, I have to say that it’s just a small world you know. There are plenty of people who are better than me. In fact, Kominami-senpai, who is one year older than me…]

[That’s a senior, isn’t it? When you were a 3rd year, was there a better guard than you?]

[……]

[…..]

[…… Pass. I’ll pass on that question.]

[Okay, but there’s not much left.]

[Too few.]

–One round, that’s it. Normally there are three rounds in a row.

[Skill can be measured in absolute terms, but there are other criteria that determine whether a player can play in a game. The tendency of the team. Especially for guards like me, who can cut right in and get crushed half the time.]

[Ara… That’s good, right? With you, we’ll have a super-aggressive team.]

[So, we’ll attack fast and hard?]

[Of course.]

Himesaki-san nodded as if to say, what else is there to do?

[That’s just like you.]

I couldn’t help but let out a small laugh. It’s just like her.

[What do you mean?]

[It means exactly what it means.]

Miyazato (a.k.a. Sato-chan) would probably feel the same way.

[I feel like I’m being made fun of.]

[It’s called paranoia.]

[jeez]

She mumbled and laughed.

But then she stopped.

She was probably wondering why we were talking so peacefully. For all I know, I felt the same way. I’m sure we didn’t have such a close relationship.

Himesaki-san cleared her throat.

[Anyway, that teacher is unqualified as an advisor. If you can’t use a talented player, and you’re letting your personal feelings get in the way, that’s even worse.]

[You think so highly of me.]

That makes me a little happy.

[I don’t mean that as a compliment. I’m just a good player and I can measure people’s abilities.]

[That’s one of the beauties of you.]

[…..]

I shut up.

That’s it. She hates to lose, and she’s obsessed with winning, but she’s not very good at receiving praise.

[……]

[……]

It was mealtime again.

I ate my fries and she ate the rest of her hamburger.

[Back to the topic at hand, did you ever think of quitting the club because of the unfair treatment?]

After a short pause, Himesaki-san opened her mouth.

[I hadn’t thought about that. But basketball is not a major sport in Japan, so if I quit, I wouldn’t have anywhere else to play. Besides, I didn’t think the treatment was unfair]

[……]

The reason for his silence this time is unknown.

Eventually.-

[Yes. That means you’re purely ……]

A single word was spun as if thoughts were spilling out of her mouth.

The speech gradually becomes less and less pronounced.

[What?]

[I’ve felt it before, but today I felt it again. You’re just a softie.]

She said with conviction.

[Well, maybe so.]

I’m somewhat aware of it, and I don’t mind if people think so. It’s not something that you have to deny.

As if she had nothing more to ask, Himesaki-san took another bite of her hamburger and finished it shortly after.

I had been eating the fries one by one for a while now.

[Do you want some too, Himesaki-san?]

I felt bad about eating alone, so I turned the bag of fries towards her and asked.

[No, thank you, that’s a lump of oil.]

[A lump of oil……]

I guess she didn’t like potatoes either.

[Oh, so you’re the one who cares about your weight.]

[It’s natural. You can’t maintain your figure if you don’t.]

[Figure?]

I looked at her chest.

[Maybe you should eat a little more.]

I don’t see any ups and downs.

[You say rude things casually and do blatantly rude things huh.]

[Uh, yeah. Sorry, …….]

It was an inappropriate topic, as expected.

And–

Suddenly, Himesaki-san turned thoughtful.

[After all, you too have …….that……]

She dropped her gaze and murmured in a whisper.

[What?]

[No, It’s fine. It’s nothing.]

Then she quickly cut it off. It was like it never happened.

[……]

She’s got a way of slurring her words sometimes, doesn’t she?

[But then again, even you have an interest in that kind of thing huh.]

[I apologized for that, and you’re still picking on me.]

[No, I’m not. I’m just genuinely impressed. I’ve seen the boys in my class talk about it and when the girls are climbing the stairs, they immediately gather at the bottom. I guess you’re the same.]

[Oh, I see. I don’t mean to be blunt, but I’m the same way. If a girl walks ahead of me on the stairs, I’m also a little curious you know.]

I think it’s a healthy growth process.

When I said this, Himesaki-san chuckled.

[Laugh if you want. Even if one makes a face like they’re not interested in such things, one day it will come out.]

I wonder how I can be so open about it.

[That’s not what I meant by laughing. I just think you’re really honest.]

[Should I have said, “Not all men are like that?”]

[Yes. I might have believed that. Ah, Chiaki-kun was the only one who was different, like that.]

Himesaki-san said, with a serious face.

[…… Really]

I could barely reply.

I don’t know why I feel so embarrassed. I don’t know if it’s because she said “Chiaki-kun” to my face.

[……]

[……]

We drank our drinks in silence.

In this silence, it seemed that I was the only one experiencing the awkwardness.

It’s not that I couldn’t stand it anymore, but this time I started the conversation.

[Hey, Himesaki-san. Can I ask you something as well?]

Yes. There’s something I need to ask her.

[What is it?]

[You said earlier that you’ve been asking around about me, but did you hear that story too?]

[That story………?]

[Rumors about me.]

[Rumors …….]

She pronounced it and pondered.

Eventually–

[Oh, that story, isn’t it?]

[…….]

That was enough for me. If she can think of something, it means she knows it.

It is about the origin of who I am.

I had no intention of hiding it. It’s something that I’ve even told Ichiya

However, I am perplexed by the fact that it came from someone else’s mouth at an unexpected time to someone I thought didn’t need to be told.

[…… So, what did you think?]

My voice came out harder than I expected.

[What do I think? Nothing particular. It has nothing to do with me.]

[……]

[No matter where you come from, you’re a good player. I just want to beat you.]

[I see.]

I felt my cheeks relax as I heard Himesaki-san’s typical comment again.

She will stay herself to any extent.

I liked that attitude – and yet I suddenly felt sad that she said she didn’t care about me as an individual.

I reached for my drink and sipped at the straw.

I had already drunk it earlier, so all that came into my mouth was melted ice. There was a thin layer of juice mixed in, and the taste was indescribable.

When it was gone, I sucked in the air with a small sound.

That was the cue.

[Then, I’m going home.]

Himesaki-san gathered up the trash on the tray for easy disposal.

[I’m sorry to have taken up so much of your time.]

[No, it’s okay. It was quite fun.]

[Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t come to spend some quality time with you. I just wanted to ask you something.]

[I see that, too. Well, I’ll just leave that as an impression in my mind.]

[……]

Himesaki-san silently stood up with the tray.

[Ah, it’s ok. I’ll clean it up.]

I followed her and sat up.

[Don’t say anything about it, just let me clean this up on the account that I’m a woman.]

[Well, I don’t mean to complain about ……, but okay. I’ll just take your word for it.]

[Yeah. Okay, bye.]

[Yeah. See you at…….]

I was about to say, “See you at school tomorrow,” but stopped myself.

I don’t really want to meet her.

She didn’t seem to care about my half-hearted greeting and turned on her heel with the tray in her hand.

I straightforwardly left her to clean up and left the restaurant by myself.

This is how I’m parting ways with Himesaki-san.

This is the extent of our friendship, to begin with.

I ended up having lunch at an unexpected place. But after that, I went to the supermarket as planned and finished the day with a visit to the church.


TN: Damn, that was too long.. I don’t have mood to do any other today now..

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started