V3C1 Part 1

Chapter 1 – Kaleidoscope

Volume 3


First day of school in a long time.

Three days of house arrest and five days of suspension. With two Sundays in between, for a total of ten days. It was the first time for me, who had never been seriously ill, to be absent from school for ten days.

Today, I finally got to see the people I’ve been wanting to see while I’ve been working on the many assignments I’ve been given during my suspension.

Ichiya, Sato-chan, Madoka-senpai

And Katase-senpai.

[…..]

Eh?

I had a strange feeling of anxiety when I thought of Katase Senpai’s face. ……

[Maybe I’m a little elated?]

I thought to myself as I got off the train and approached the school.

It wasn’t because I hadn’t been to school in a while, but because the school uniforms had undergone a transition from winter to summer uniforms while I was suspended, and very few students were wearing blazers as tightly as I was in the early days of June when the sun was getting hotter.

(No word on that to me? ……)

Well, just because most of the students were wearing short or long-sleeved shirts didn’t mean they were completely out of winter clothes, which was fine.

I felt a little out of place as I headed to school.

–And so to the classroom.

[Good morning Ichiya… What’s wrong with your arm?]

It’s been ten days since I’ve seen him, but I was surprised when I tried to greet him as usual. Ichiya had been injured and was hanging his left arm with a large white cloth.

[It’s just a crack in the bone. Don’t worry about it.]

Everything else was the same as usual. Ichiya was sitting reading a paperback book. It wasn’t like he was absorbed in it, but rather he seemed uninterested in it.

[Cracked bone? What were you doing? A human pyramid went wrong?]

[What are you talking about?]

When I kicked him with a quiet voice, he finally looked up.

[Some people are a bit annoying. …… so we got into a fight.]

[No way!?]

–I couldn’t help but shout in surprise at the unexpected words of Ichiya.

[No, you shouldn’t be fighting. It’s dangerous.]

[You of all people shouldn’t say that.]

[Well, sure. But compared to me, you’re more of an indoor person.]

[Do I look that way?]

[Yes. Sixty percent of the time I see you, you’re reading a book. At least you’re not a fighting type, right?]

[…… Let’s just go with that.]

I thought I saw a faint smile on his face when he said that. I wondered if I was imagining what I had just seen, and as I tilted my head, I heard him call out to me.

[Nachi. Why don’t you just sit down?]

[Oh, Yeah, I guess so.]

I was still standing and hadn’t even put down my bag, probably because I was upset by the unusual situation. At any rate, I put my bag down and took off my hot blazer.

And…

–I noticed Ichiya staring at me.

[What’s wrong?]

[Understanding my mental state. Or to see if I have my feelings in order.]

[What’s that? I don’t get it.]

And a straightforward Ichiya would rarely use a euphemism like this in any way.

[You can’t understand. I didn’t intend for you to understand either]

More nonsense.

I sat down sideways in my chair and took off the tie that strangled my neck

[Chiaki~~!]

And then I heard the voice of a girl who was full of energy. Needless to say, it was my classmate Akira Miyazato (aka Sato-chan).

[Hi, Sato-chan. Where are your friends today?]

[Friends?]

Miyazato sat down in the seat next to me.

She came from the other side of the row, climbed onto the chair, jumped down, and sat down on it as soon as she landed. I wondered where she got the energy to be so needlessly active.

[Yeah. Green frog.] (TN: Not sure what’s the reference is)

[Oh, that one. We have it at home.]

[You do?]

[Because my father brought it home when he was drunk. It can’t be helped.]

No, you don’t have to say it so pointedly.

I was only joking, but I didn’t expect her to respond like that.

[Can you imagine? You walk in the door and a smiling green frog is waiting for you. The moment you see it, you’ll burst into laughter and sigh afterward, won’t you?]

[I bet.]

Well, it’s at the door. Let’s get him out of here.

[That’s not the point. Chiaki, why did you get suspended from school?]

[What do you mean, “why?” ……. Didn’t you hear anything from Ozaki-sensei?]

[Nah, nothing. Was it the Friday before last? The day Chiaki disappeared in the afternoon. The teacher’s face was swollen that day, so I guess that you punched him and got suspended from school.]

[Suspension is finished. Don’t ask me about the details.]

[What’s that? Come on. Tell me.]

Miyazato seemed to have finally activated her aggressive mode, and Sato-chan, aka Big Moss, leaned over to us and asked.

[Well, that’s a private matter. Besides, it is not my story alone.]

[Oh, that’s just nasty.]

[What do you mean, “nasty”? Shut up, will you?. The chime’s ringing. The doorbell’s ringing. Why don’t you go back to your seat?  That’s Iuchi-san’s seat. Don’t bother him by staying there.]

As the chime sounded from the classroom loudspeaker, I shooed Miyazato away.

[Hmm, you better remember this.]

[Okay, okay. I’ll remember. Now go back to your drugstore.]

[Don’t talk about people like they’re some kind of red elephant.]

Akira Miyazato (a.k.a. Sato-chan), who just started making retorts.

Almost at the same time as Miyazato went back to his seat, homeroom teacher Ozaki came in. He stood at the podium, looked around the classroom, and then spotted me.

[Oh, yeah, it was from today.]

He snickered condescendingly.

[I hope you’ll be a little quieter from now on.]

[……]

Wow, sensei, it looks like you’re still holding on to it.

The teacher didn’t seem to be expecting a response from me in particular and began to confirm attendance without care.

[Nachi.]

Ichiya whispered from behind me.

[You want me to beat him up?]

[Hey, hey]

–Ichiya is a fighting type, isn’t he?

Lunch break–

I turned around and ate my lunch at Ichiya’s desk. Normally, Ichiya would have three tasks going on at the same time: eating lunch, reading a book, and talking with me. But right now he can’t eat and read at the same time because his left arm is hanging. As a result, his work is inevitably limited to eating and talking. Well, that’s normal, if you can call it normal.

Amidst such an unusually normal meal scene, Ichiya suddenly took out his mobile phone from his pocket. It must have been an incoming call because it was buzzing low and assertive. He dexterously opened it with one hand and looked at the display. Immediately, her shapely eyebrows furrowed and wrinkles appeared between her brows.

–A moment of stillness.

Perhaps that was the time it took to think. The next moment, he seemed to have recovered.

[…… Hello?]

Correction.

Still slightly grumpy.

[…… No, not really. …… I refuse. …… Ah, if that’s the reason, I guess I can go. –.]

I don’t know who it was on the phone, but it was an awful dismissive tone.

I took the opportunity to grab a piece of fried chicken from Ichiya’s lunch box. The dashi-maki egg next to it was also very attractive because of its beautiful color.

[Well, I’ll just head over there.]

That seemed to be his closing words, and he ended the call and closed his phone.

[Who was that?]

I asked him as I munched on the fried chicken ……. It’s quite tasty.

[A senpai that I can’t tell if it’s round or square.]

Said Ichiya.

Round or square? What’s that? I thought about it as I chewed, and as soon as I swallowed, the answer came to me.

[Madoka-senpai.]

[She said to come to the cafeteria with Nachi now.]

[Hmm, me too huh. why is that?]

I tried to think about it, but I couldn’t think of any reason why Madoka-senpai would call Ichiya. In addition, the combination of Ichiya and Madoka-senpai is also outlandish.

[……]

[Why aren’t you talking? Say something.]

[No, I was thinking that Nachi’s recklessness stems from his inability to predict situations.]

[What’s with that?]

I don’t know what you’re talking about when you say that.

[Oh, yeah. Look at this.ja~jan~  It’s a cell phone. I got it for my dad when he was home the other day. Isn’t it nice?]

I pulled it out of my pocket and thrust it at Ichiya as if it were the seal of a nobleman. However, he only stared at it blankly without moving an eyebrow. Eventually, he lost interest, looked away, and snatched up a mini-hamburger from my lunch box.

[Uh-oh. ……]

[What are you bragging about to someone who already has one?]

Ichiya said after swallowing down the hamburger …… Oh, there are only two precious hamburgers.

[That’s right too.]

I was convinced.

[Eat up as soon as you can. She’s going to be noisy if you keep her waiting.]

[Oui oui]

That’s true. Whether or not they are noisy, now that we’ve agreed to go, we can’t keep them waiting too long. Let’s eat quickly.

[–And then, Ichiya, I’ll have a rolled egg.]

I was going to grab the delicious-looking dashi-flavored rolled egg without asking any questions, without even listening to his reply. But then my hand involuntarily stopped.

The chopsticks of Ichiya had grabbed my wiener.

[……]

[……]

We looked at each other in silence as we reached for each other’s lunches.

The cafeteria seemed to have passed its peak of crowds, and there were a few empty seats here and there, though it was not so deserted.

I took a look around the cafeteria for Madok senpai.

(I mean, most of the female students are looking at us. ……)

As always an incredible power he has, this Ichiya.

I thought about it again and looked at the profile of Ichiya. However, the intelligent and beautiful boy with glasses does not seem to be bothered by this and keeps a cool face.

[There……]

Ichiya murmured.

When I looked back, I saw Madoka-senpai on a seat by the window at the far end of the room. The other side seemed to have found us and raised one hand lightly to indicate her presence.

And next to her…

[Uwaha……]

Katase Senpai was also there.

–I winced for a moment.

[Why are you so surprised?]

[Because I didn’t think she’d be here. …… Huh? Could it be that you knew about it Ichiya?]

[I knew she would be there. I don’t understand why you can’t foresee this situation.]

I wonder if that is the case …

We weaved our way through the tables to get to the seniors. I was a little nervous. It’s partly because people are still paying attention to Ichiya’s movements and throwing unreserved glances at him. And also I’m afraid that I can’t predict what Katase-senpai is going to do.

[Hello, Nachi-kun.]

[Hello.]

However, she was surprisingly normal and greeted me with a calm, mature smile. I felt a little relieved.

[I’ve been waiting for you, you two. …… Nacchi, long time no see.]

[Finally back to school. It’s been ten days since I’ve seen you, right Madoka-senpai?]

[You’re right. …… How’s your arm, Toyachi?]

[Thanks to you…]

As he said this, Ichiya lifted his hanging left arm a little and showed it to her.

[You should stay put for a while.]

[Oh, no. She got you there, Ichiya.]

[How can you of all people say that?]

I got a glare.

I thought I got used to being stared at after being around Ichiya but this may be a little dangerous.

[Well, just sit down. Here, this is to celebrate Nacchi’s return. Share it between the two of you.]

With that, Madoka senpai presented us with two small packages to celebrate Nacchi’s return. We’ll split it between the two of us.

What Madoka senpai held out in front of us was two packs of juice. They must have been bought at the vending machine corner of the cafeteria. One was a café au lait, and the other was …….

[…… deluxe soy milk? What the heck is this?]

[Is that what this is about, implicitly telling me and Nachi to fight each other?]

–Ichiya and I spoke in unison.

What kind of lineup is soy milk in the student cafeteria? What’s more, what’s with the person who chooses to use it, Madoka senpai……

[No, it’s some kind of new product. I bought it to try it out.]

What Madoka Senpai is drinking is orange juice. She bought it to try it out, but she didn’t want to check it out for herself. I thought that this was a kind of human experiment, but neither Ichiya nor I said anything else.

[Okay, Ichiya. If we have to fight over a pack of juice, one of us is going to die before we graduate. So let’s play rock, paper, scissors.]

[That’s safer.]

[Jan ken……] 

Pon! (TN: Jan-ken-pon is rock paper scissors)

-Ichiya, Chi.

Me, gu.

[Victory.]

[……]

Oh, I saw a slight twitch in the mouth of Ichiya. It’s kind of funny.

[…… All right. I’ll drink it.]

Human sacrifice Ichiya. Namu.

After saying this, he stuck a straw into the juice pack’s mouth and poured the unidentifiable liquid into his throat with desperation. I, Katase-senpai, and Madoka-senpai watch on.

[……]

Ichiya wrinkled his brow slightly as he looked at the three of us.

Then, he turned his head downward and fell silent. He was looking for the right words to describe his impression, but he couldn’t find any. That’s how I felt.

[I’m sorry. It’s my fault. You can drink this to cleanse your palate.]

–Before Ichiya could say a word, Madoka senpai apologized and put the orange juice carton she was drinking in front of him. Although she looked as if she was trying to hold back her laughter.

[…….I’ll take it]

He even jumped at the chance to fix his mouth without hesitation or reservation, yet he never once showed any dramatic change in his face.

After taking a sip of the juice, which was probably just a palate cleanser, he handed the pack back to Madoka-senpai. Perhaps it was because Madoka-senpai had seen the rare sight of Ichiya, she was strangely satisfied and sipped the orange juice that had returned to her hand.

[Hey, hey, Nachi-kun?]

Katase-senpai called out to me from the front.

Her voice sounded a little nervous.

[Hmm?]

[Nachi-kun, would you like to drink this to cleanse your palate?]

She offered me a drink of yogurt.

[Oh, it’s okay. Coffee is difficult, but I can drink at least café au lait.]

[Oh, really?]

When I refused, Senpai pulled it back, looking disappointed.

[But still…]

I opened my mouth.

[These members stand out, don’t they? Katase senpai and Ichiya go without saying. Even Madoka-senpai is famous for being the leader of the women’s basketball team.]

Some students have been glancing at us from a distance for a while now, and others have been throwing curious glances at us as they walk by, making me feel uncomfortable.

And–

[……]

[……]

[……]

[Eh? What? Why are you three looking at me?]

I just said what I thought, but I panicked at the unexpected reaction.

The first one to make a move was Madoka-senpai. Madoka-senpai turned her attention to Katase-senpai.

[…… Tsukasa.]

[No, I didn’t want him to realize that……]

Said Katase senpai.

Continuing, Madoka Senpai turned her head vigorously to Ichiya.

[…… Toyachi]

[I stopped talking about stupid stuff.]

That is what Ichiya said.

Then, Madoka Senpai hung her head in disappointment.

[Ah, you guys …….]

That was all she said at last, and there were no more words. Thanks to this, I had no idea what was going on.

[Nacchi, don’t people often say that you are not familiar with the rumors around?]

[Do they?]

[…… I guess.]

She seemed to be satisfied with herself. In the end, I couldn’t figure out what everyone was trying to say.

[In short…]

After quenching her thirst with orange juice, Madoka senpai opened her mouth again.

[It means that everyone likes Nacchi. Including me, …… ouch!]

At that moment, Katase senior’s elbow, sitting beside her, gave a powerful strike.

Madoka-senpai sank on the table, clutching her side. In the end, she raised her face and looked at Ichiya in the front for some reason with resentful eyes.

[Bu, Brutus, …… Even you…….]

[My foot slipped.]

Ichiya said with a straight face.

Apparently, something was going on under the table as well. Or rather, it’s gradually becoming beyond my comprehension.

[Ah.., it hurts. …… Well, let’s just leave this ignorant idiot ]

Is it my fault?

[Seriously, Tsukasa, are you sure? Nacchi’s right, you’re pretty conspicuous.]

[You’re right. But it’s okay, isn’t it? I don’t think it’s a problem as long as we talk normally.]

[Wow, you’re getting strong.]

[Yeah, of course. I have nothing to be afraid of now.]

Then she smiled meaningfully.

[Right, Nachi-kun?]

[……]

I wish you would not dump it on me.

[What’s going on?]

[You want to know?…. Madoka, give me your ear.]

[Hey, Katase senpai?]

I have to stop her before she says something crazy.

But senpai didn’t care about me, she just kept on talking to Madoka-senpai. Gradually, Madoka-senpai’s eyes widened, and then…

[Eh! Mar…..ge?]

She tried to shout something, but her mouth was blocked by Katase senpai’s hand.

[Don’t yell so loud. It’s just between us…….okay?]

When Katase senpai confirmed this, Madoka senpai nodded twice while his mouth was still covered. After that, Madoka Senpai was finally released.

[Toyachi, give me your ear.]

[Hmm……]

Ichiya leaned forward. This time, with a table between them, it seemed difficult to talk, but they were both tall. It didn’t seem to be much of an obstacle.

When they finished talking in private, they both looked at me.

[……]

[……]

[So what is it this time?]

I shouted for a reason.

However, without telling me anything, Madoka-senpai plopped down on the table.

[Ah gosh. I can’t take this. You guys are jumping the gun.]

[…… I agree. Go to hell.]

The voice of Ichiya was chilling.

[……]

Ah, forget it. I could almost guess what senpai had said.

As I leaked a dry laugh to myself, Katase Senpai winked at me from the front… You look so happy, Senpai.

Well, regardless of how serious Katase-senpai is, I’m sure I’m the same in terms of being happy. But I think I’d like to be a more normal student.


TN: Starting new volume.. there seems to be no prologue for this one… weird.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

2 thoughts on “V3C1 Part 1

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started