Episode 22 – “In Just One Year, You’ve Become Much More Mature And Even More Naive.”

“…Here you go.”

I was told that Yomi-san had become distraught, so tea was served to give her a break.

As I bowed to the maid’s beautiful gesture, I picked up the expensive-looking cup in front of me and slowly poured the tea down my throat.

It was probably made from the finest tea leaves, but honestly, I couldn’t think of anything else to say other than it was delicious.

I glanced at Yomi-san’s face and saw that she was also drinking tea with a blank expression on her face, not revealing what she was thinking.

I guess I’d better plan for what’s going to happen next while I can.

–That’s what I thought.

“Let’s get back to it.”

As soon as I was about to think about it, Yomi-san spoke up.

I’m sure she saw my reaction and decided to start a conversation.

In short, she didn’t even give me time to think.

“Returning to the story, are you ready to listen to me?”

“I don’t know.”

“Ehh…….”

Then why did you ask me to go back to the conversation?

There is something strange about Yomi-san today.

“In the first place, you’re still hiding something, aren’t you?”

“Eh?”

The sudden start of the conversation made me nervous.

There are indeed things I haven’t told Yomi-san about yet.

But how can you know that much?

As expected, she’s not a genius, but a psychic.

“What are you talking about?”

“Hmmm… You’re going to play dumb with Yomi? It’s funny that you should be the one to step in, no matter how much it’s for the sake of your idol. You’re supposed to be the one who draws the line. So why are you getting involved this time?”

I’m sure that the accusatory language was not just for show, and that she was accusing me.

As Yomi-san said, normally I would never do anything to get involved with Nekoto-chan, no matter how much she was my object of affection.

The other person is in their own position, and they may have circumstances that I don’t know about.

That’s why, if I were to get involved, it might cause trouble for them.

I’m scared of that, so I don’t try to get involved myself.

But this time…

“Can’t answer? Then I’ll give you a guess. You realized the identity of Idol Nekoto, didn’t you?”

I couldn’t help but widen my eyes when she said something that I would never normally guess.

Then, Yomi-san sighed in exasperation.

“I was right.”

“No, um, …… how do you know so much?”

I’m not sure if you’re smart or insightful, but I don’t think you can read me just from the way I’ve been acting since I arrived here.

In other words–

“Yomi has known about Nekoto’s true identity for a long time. And I was convinced by your attempt to get involved. The only time you try to get involved is when you’re helping someone close to you.”

After all, you had gathered information beforehand.

Even though it was a guess based on his understanding of my personality, it was a guess that could only be made if she knew who Nekoto-chan was.

…… This is not good. This is a huge disadvantage.

There was another reason why she had gone to all this trouble.

I’ve spent so much time with her that I’ve read it right away.

“I’m sure you’ve come here with something to persuade Yomi. However, Yomi has already read your thoughts, and there is a big difference in the amount of information you have obtained beforehand. Now, can you be sure that you still have something that can persuade Yomi in this situation?”

I fell silent at Yomi-san’s words.

The reason why Yomi-san went to the trouble of bringing up the topic of Nekoto-chan was to display the amount of information she had already gotten so far.

And the reason why she hadn’t shown any inclination to listen to me earlier was that she had read up on the outcome.

“You should know that. No matter how many things you present, they all have a better effect if you cut off the idol Clara. That’s why you tried to show only the merits of getting involved with Idol Nekoto and the others before Yomi realized that. On the other hand, if Yomi realizes this, it’s over. So as of now, you have nothing to say, correct?”

…… Nothing is out of place.

Everything is as Yomi-san said.

I hadn’t met her in over a year, so I had assumed she hadn’t shown any interest in me, but I had completely miscalculated.

If she had been waiting for me this long, there was no way I could convince this near-psychic genius.

“Huh. …… I’m disappointed. In just one year, you’ve become more mature and even more naive, haven’t you? I have no more use for you.”

Yomi-san sighs heavily and turns her gaze to the maid next to her with a very cold voice.

This resulted in the maid instantly restraining both my arms.

Albeit I was distracted by thinking, I didn’t think I would not be able to avoid it with only a slight delay in my reaction.

This person, despite her appearance, is very strong. ……!

Not only was she Yomi-san’s caretaker, but he was also her bodyguard: ……!

Damn, I totally let my guard down. ……!

“I’m sorry, Kazehaya-sama. Please take your leave.”

“Wait! Wait a minute–what ……?”

The moment I tried to put in the effort to shake off the maid, I felt myself wobble.

Then I couldn’t put as much strength into it as I thought I would, and I fell to my knees.

“No way. ……!?”

“It’s a fast-acting poison that works on elephants in an instant, and yet it takes so long for it to work. …… As always, your tolerance for poison is beyond even Yomi’s comprehension.”

Yomi-san walked up to me, sounding unsure whether she was impressed or disgusted.

Then she lifted my chin with a quick, thin finger and looked down at me.

“I knew it…… Did you poison me……?”

“It’s just a poison that makes you numb. You will be able to walk in a few minutes.”

“Why would you …… do that?”

“Of course, because we can’t hold you down if I don’t do this.”

When Yomi-san said that, I felt an inexplicable pressure from behind me for some reason.

I can’t move my face because Yomi-san is holding me, but I can tell that she’s giving me an unpleasant feeling.

Perhaps I had provoked her pride.

The pressure behind me was bothering me, but since it wasn’t like she was trying to kill me, I decided not to worry about it.

“That’s why you served it with …… tea. ……?”

“Correct, you do indeed seem to have figured it out. If you had noticed that Yomi’s throat wasn’t moving, you would have noticed it sooner. Though you came here to make a deal with me, you’re too relaxed.”

There was no other time I could have been poisoned, and I was completely off guard.

Who could have imagined that I would be poisoned?

I can only regret my carelessness.

“Well, then leave him in front of the house like this. If you don’t hurry, he’s going to start moving soon.”

“It’s supposed to be a drug that usually keeps you immobile for a whole day. …… Are you sure you don’t want me to send him home ……?”

–The maid-san seemed to care about me even though she had her thoughts on the matter and asked back as if she was a little insistent on Yomi-san, the master.

“It’s okay. As I said before, he’ll be able to move in a matter of minutes, so there’s no need to pamper him…….”

“Understood”

When the maid heard Yomi-san’s words, she no longer hesitated and pulled my arm up.

Then she started to walk away.

“Hey……! Yomi-san……!”

I called out desperately to Yomi-san, but she had her back turned to me and wouldn’t answer.

And then I was actually thrown out in front of Yomi-san’s mansion.


TN: Heroine-san..?

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

7 thoughts on “Episode 22 – “In Just One Year, You’ve Become Much More Mature And Even More Naive.”

  1. correct me if i am wrong.

    it seems that yomi has crush on him for a long time but he stopped being her bodyguard (due to reasons explained earlier) and that’s why he stopped getting in contact with her and then he fell in love with nekoto and yomi got to know about this since it seems that she has been inspecting him all the time (yandere alert). it that why yomi has hostile attitude toward kazehaya?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started