V1 – Episode 5 – Acceptance

Chapter 1 – Naoya Ookusu

Volume 1


” A favor is it?”

I couldn’t help but have a bad feeling about this, so I asked him.

“I don’t see any connection between what you just said and us, so what is it?”

We are the class committee, but there are some chores we can do and some we can’t. Everyone has their abilities and aptitudes.

However, the teacher said.

“Well, you know. I’d like you to find out why she’s been so absent-minded, and then persuade her to change her attitude.”

“Not possible !”

I answered immediately.

To be honest, I thought that’s what I was going to have to do. My bad premonition had come true.

“.. No ?”

 “We’ve barely interacted with Enami-san, so how can we have such a deep conversation? Besides, that’s the teacher’s job, isn’t it?”

“Well, I understand how you feel. I do”

If you can understand, then I want you to stop asking me for help immediately. It is not that the class committee members are prepared to impose the work that they have been spoonfed.

“I’m sure there are more suitable people to ask. Like Nishikawa.”

Rather, it was an impossible task for anyone but Nishikawa. But the teacher shook his head.

“I’ve already asked Nishikawa if she could find out why she was so unserious and encourage her to improve. And she declined.”

“…..She refused ?”

It was unexpected. Nishikawa was a gyaru, but her attitude toward class was extremely serious. I remember that her grades were also quite high. I thought she might be looking at Enami-san’s current situation and wanting her to improve.

“To be honest, I don’t know why. But it was an immediate answer, just like yours earlier. She didn’t even tell me why she refused. I don’t know what high school students are thinking these days.”

“Huh.”

“Listen to me carefully. You’re all I’ve got.”

I didn’t want to hear him say that, but I decided to listen to what he had to say.

“First of all, do you know how many times Enami has come to school on time since she started her sophomore year?

Naturally, I didn’t know. Fujisaki, who had been quiet until then, answered.

“I am not sure……. but I’d say she’ s been to school on time at least half of the time “

“No, Fujisaki. You may not have noticed when she sometimes sneaks into the classroom, but it’s less than that.”

When I asked him how many times it was, he replied with a surprising answer.

“Six.”

“……”

Six times? It was October, and counting from April, there must have been more than 80 days of school. And yet, only six times?

“Shocking, isn’t it? Morning HR without Enami is an everyday scene. None of the students care about it anymore. But after six trips to school at the beginning of the semester, she’s been late ever since.”

“I hadn’t noticed. ……”

I don’t know how they’ve tolerated it so far. I’m sure she’s going to be held back in the school year.

“I can understand where you’re coming from. You’re wondering why we left it until it got this bad. But we didn’t just leave her alone until she got this bad. I visited her at home and told her parents to cooperate. And I even called her into the staff room and persistently asked her why she was late.”

“Is that so?”

I didn’t know. Looks like Fujisaki didn’t know either. She had a similar reaction to me.

“I can’t give you too many details, but there are a lot of things going on in her family life. I couldn’t say that strongly either. But it was beyond what I could tolerate. Besides, it wouldn’t be good for her if I just let her deteriorate like this. That’s why today I scolded her as hard as I could, but …… it didn’t seem to affect her at all.”

I know that.

“You will find a lot of things that you can’t say because of your position as a teacher and a student. I’m sure there are things that students in the same class can communicate with each other. That’s why I want to ask you guys to take care of Enami.”

“I humbly refuse.”

”Even after hearing all this?”

That’s obvious. I  was listening to the conversation to refuse.

It’s obvious that even if I take the job, it will fail. It’s Enami-san. Her face may be cute. But this is the same Enami-san who has repelled all attempts to talk to her (except one). There’s no benefit to me, and why should I take on something I know will fail?

“If you’re a serious person, you wouldn’t tolerate a student like that. Don’t you want to fix it?”

“…… I don’t particularly feel that way.”

I don’t like it, that’s for sure. I don’t like people who do that kind of thing.

That’s why I don’t want to get involved.

“…… Fujisaki, what about you?”

“……Well.”

Fujisaki, who is much more serious than I am, seemed to have pondered a bit after listening to the teacher.

And then she said.

“I’m going to try to talk to Enami-san once.”

“…… Are you serious?”

I never have spoken to Enami-san, but with Fujisaki’s personality, I’m sure she’s already tried talking to her. And probably she would have been treated coldly. But still, she wanted to challenge her?

The teacher seemed to be so happy that he jumped for joy.

“Really! Thank you! I’m glad I asked you, Fujisaki!”

If that’s what Fujisaki wanted, I had no choice. I also told him.

“Then I’ll speak with her one time, too.”

“Thank you for your help!”

When I looked at Fujisaki, she was apologizing with a small hand in front of her.


TN: And off we go…

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
IMPATIENT MTL READER

Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

3 thoughts on “V1 – Episode 5 – Acceptance

  1. Finally, a very realistic MC~

    Normally, you’ll refused that kind of troublesome thing, Nariyuki is just too good boi and got baited by the reccomendation~!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started