V1C2 Part 2

Chapter 2 – The Date & Aftermath

Volume 1

On Monday, when I went to school, I found myself in a serious situation.

[ Did you hear that, Nacchi? ]

 When I arrived at the classroom in the morning, my friend called out to me before I had even reached my seat. I don’t know what he heard, but he seemed a little overexcited.

[ What are you talking about? And don’t call me Nacchi.]

[Our Katase Senpai has got a boyfriend.]

[ Eh..?]

I was so surprised that I was surprised myself. I was so startled that all my classmates in the classroom turned to look at me to see what was going on.

[ I was surprised to find out that he was in the 3rd year of middle school. His name is Aiba Shinya. He’s from Minami 2nd Junior High.]

[……]

Oh, that is…….

[fufufu.. you’re so surprised that you can’t even speak.]

What’s this guy so proud of? I mean, that’s a lot of information leak.

[And then…]

[Is there more to it..?]

[Ah, here comes the mystery. There was no Aiba Shinya in Minami 2nd Middle School, that’s for sure.]

[Oh..h]

I suppose that’s true. The school is real (it’s my school), but the name is just a lie that came out of my mouth. There is no such person. If there were, it would be someone with the same name. In that case, I would have been in a lot of trouble.

[Where’d you get that information?]

[What do you mean, where? Dude, the whole school is talking about it now.]

Uwaa..

( This is getting kind of ridiculous. …… )

Anyway, I took my seat.

Behind me was Ichiya’s seat. He was already there, quietly reading a paperback.

(Come to think of it, I saw him yesterday, didn’t I?)

I threw my bag on the desk and took my seat.

[Good morning, Ichiya.]

[Good morning]

After answering, Ichiya closed the book with a snap.

[W, what’s the matter…?]

I became quite nervous because Ichiya stopped reading just as he greeted me. Why is he acting so out of character only today?

[ Nothing much.]

And he sounded like he was in a bad mood.

He didn’t say anything to me but just looked at me in silence. I felt uncomfortable. Was it because I felt guilty? It’s like If I don’t talk about something, I’m going to get shot in the eye.

[It’s kind of getting to be a big deal, huh]

This topic of all topics. What an awful choice I made.

[It seems so. I heard that Katase Senpai got a man. ]

[Oh, Ichiya also knew about it huh.]

What’s with this rate of information flow?

[The guy is Shinya Aiba from Minami 2nd Middle School. Currently 3rd year it seems, but that’s you, right?…….. Wait, don’t run away.]

[Let me go, please. Today there’s maintenance work on the gas pipeline. I have to go home right away.]

[Stop talking nonsense and sit down.]

–He quickly grabbed me by the back collar as I tried to run away and forcefully put me back in my seat.

[I don’t want to. I wanna go home. Do not think you can pull something like this off for free. You’ll get in trouble later.]

[It’ll be troublesome if you get teary-eyed and cross]

He grabbed my head and pulled me closer. Our foreheads were as close as they could touch one another.

[First of all, shut up. Everyone is looking at us. If Miyazato finds out, things will get out of hand.]

I certainly don’t want that. If Sato-chan comes at me in aggressive mode, I’m sure she’ll question me about every little thing. It’s a real big threat.

Koku koku, I nodded silently and responded to the Ichiya.

[Okay. Then tell me the whole story.]

[…Oi]

–In the end, it’s just a matter of whether it’s Ichiya or Miyazato. Isn’t it the same after all? (TN: Some idiom was used here. It doesn’t make sense in English)

[I see. I understand.]

When I finished telling him the whole story, Ichiya nodded his head in understanding.

[ By the way, how did you know I was with Senpai? ]

[If you had seen me, that means I would have had a chance to see you, too.]

[Oh, Is that so..]

A kind of like an abyss, as Dr. Nietzsche said. (TN: Reference to  “When you stare into the abyss, the abyss stares back at you)

Me and Ichiya, face to face, whispering to each other. Isn’t it very suspicious? I think I’m going to attract Miyazato’s attention more this way.

[I guess the question is, where did this information leak come from]

Yesterday’s events were known by today’s morning. Moreover, there was even an indication that they had done a background check on Aiba Shinya. They acted so fast.

[It’s easy to narrow it down. If it was simply a case of Katase walking around with a man, there would be no concrete information. Then there is someone who knows it was ‘Aiba Shinya of Minami 2nd Middle’.]

[So, by that, I take it you’re out of the equation, right?]

–Ichiya had just seen us and hadn’t heard the senpai’s lie.

[That’s right……. What, did you suspect me?]

[Not necessarily. Then there are only those three, right?]

The only other people I met yesterday were three of senpai’s friends.

Among them, the one that comes to mind is Madoka Shihodo-senpai. She is Katase senpai’s best friend – The ‘dangerous person’.

(I wonder if it’s that person. ……)

After all, she’s a “dangerous” person.

As I was vaguely thinking about this, my homeroom teacher, Ms. Ozaki, came in. It seemed that the bell had rung before I knew it. The short morning homeroom began immediately, interrupting my thoughts and my conversation with Ichiya.

Lunch break—

[Ichiya, I’m going to the school cafeteria.]

After the fourth-period class was over, I told Ichiya. Ichiya was just about to take his lunch box out of his bag when he heard my words and stopped his hand.

[Did you forget your lunch?]

[No, I overslept and didn’t have time to make it. So I have to go to the cafeteria today.]

Spending a long time together with Katase Senpai yesterday had made me more fatigued than I had thought, so I went to bed early at night and had a good sleep. This morning, I woke up more than 30 minutes later than usual.

[I’ll accompany you.]

–Ichiya said simply and matter-of-factly, and stood up.

[Eh? What about the bento(TN: Lunchbox) you brought?]

[I’ll take it with me.]

At Seiryo, there is an unspoken agreement that students who eat the cafeteria menu during lunch break have priority, and it is forbidden to bring lunch boxes to the cafeteria to eat. As such, this was a natural choice for Ichiya.

[Come on, let’s go.]

[Oh, yeah.]

I made a quick decision and hurriedly followed him as he started walking.

The two of us walked side by side through the bustling corridor during lunch break. Ichiya doesn’t talk much, so he rarely initiates conversations. It’s mostly my role. But now, unusually, Ichiya opened his mouth first.

[Nachi, are you making your lunch on your own, by any chance?]

Probably he guessed it from our earlier conversation.

[What? I never mentioned that? I make my food, or rather, I live alone at the moment. My dad got transferred to a new job, and my mom went with him. My dad is a good worker, but he’s not very good at housework, and without my mom, he’s going to starve to death in three days.]

[…… Heard it for the first time]

–There was a hint of surprise in Ichiya’s voice.

[Didn’t you ask your big sister?]

[Eh? Ask what?]

[Bento. If you ask her, she’ll probably make you an extra one. Nachi, it’s too much trouble to get up early every morning to make it, right?]

[Hahaha. It’s fine. Besides, I quite like to prepare bento.]

[I see.]

Ichiya looked a little disappointed as he said that.

[What’s wrong Ichiya?  Being so gentle. I’m surprised to know that Ichiya is such a kind person.].

[Idiot. Go die. I won’t do anything else for you even if you ask me.]

Oh, he’s embarrassed.

It was a little bit cute to see the embarrassed and rash way he was saying things. I think I understand a little of what Katase-senpai was feeling when she teased me.

[Hey there, you two.! I’ll be taking the seat next to you.]

–While I was having lunch across from Ichiya, I heard a familiar voice. When I looked up, I saw the “dangerous person”, Madoka Shihodo.

[Go ahead, have it your way. It’s empty, so you can sit down as you like.]

–Ichiya was the first to answer.

Ichiya, who had been chatting with me normally until just now, suddenly became grumpy. I’m not sure if it was the impression of Shihodo-senpai who spoke to him in the gym that was so bad.

[I see. I thought you might be saving a seat for your friend, you know ]

She didn’t seem to be bothered by the bluntness of Ichiya’s words. She put down the tray she was carrying and sat down on a chair. Next to Ichiya.

The student cafeteria at Seiryo High School is rather spacious, so even if it gets a little crowded, you won’t run out of seats. However, it seems to be getting crowded to the point where it is difficult to find an empty seat.

[My friend will be here soon, so please make sure nobody takes it.]

Apparently, she was talking to me. The seat next to me and in front of Shihodo Senpai was free.

The conversation had stopped.

As I ate, I looked at Shihodo-senpai. Her hair is unusually long for a gymnast. I knew from seeing her in her casual clothes yesterday that she’s quite stylish. Knowing that, when I look at her in her current uniform again, I can’t help but notice the volume of her breasts, which are evident even when she’s wearing a blazer. Perhaps it was because she belonged to the PE department, but although she spoke in a masculine way, it didn’t give me a negative impression. If her personality is as refreshing as this, one might fall for her.

But that’s only if she wasn’t the one who spread the information about Katase Senpai.

(I wonder if it was her after all. ……)

If it’s as it looks, it doesn’t look like she’s going to do such a thing. If that’s the case, why did Katase-senpai call this senpai a “dangerous person”?

[What’s the matter, Nachi? You want something from me?]

[N,no, nothing. ……]

Apparently, I had been observing her while thinking, and before I knew it, I was staring at her.

[Huh? How did you know my name?]

[Oh, Nachi is rather famous for hanging out with Ichiya.]

[What’s that? I’ve never heard of it before though …… is it like, the one that’s always around the most popular Ichiya?]

Yesterday, I heard from Katase Senpai. The intelligent and beautiful boy, Ichiya-kun, is very popular among third-year girls. I heard that he had rejected several girls who had confessed their love to him without my knowledge.

[You’ve got a sharp ear. Yeah, something like that, I guess.]

[What do you mean, ‘something like that ‘? Please don’t tell Nachi anything he doesn’t need to know.]

–The grumbling voice of Ichiya interrupted us.

[It’s that kind of guardian-like attitude that creates misunderstandings.]

After saying that, Shihodo-senpai chuckled.

On the other hand, Ichiya seems to be the type of person who doesn’t like a senpai like Shihodo. It is only natural that they are sitting side by side, but he doesn’t even look at her at all.

[Oh, you’re finally here. Oi Tsukasa. here here]

[Buha….]

I almost spit out my mouthful of food. I barely managed to avoid such an embarrassing situation, but I did choke and coughed as hard as I could. I managed to get my breathing under control and when I looked up, sure enough, Katase Senpai was standing there with a tray.

[Ah……]

[Um……]

She froze in her tracks. Our gazes crossed for a moment, and then we looked away from each other.

[Y,you can sit here, Senpai.]

[T,thank you.]

After awkwardly thanking me, Katase Senpai sat down next to me and began to eat quietly. I resumed my meal that had been interrupted.

[…]

It’s no good. I’m too conscious and I can’t move my chopsticks well.

Yesterday, I felt like I understood Katase-senpai at least a little, but meeting her on campus gives me a different feeling. I can’t help but feel nervous. In addition, there is a Miss Dangerous person in front of me. It’s not a good idea to get too close to Katase Senpai. I should not talk to her. I should just pretend that we just happen to be sitting next to each other.

And as I was confirming my plan in my mind…

[Can’t you guys eat a little bit more cheerfully?]

Across from us, Shihodo gave us a frustrated look. Then, she leaned forward and brought her face close to ours, and continued to speak.

[I’m sure the two of you were out playing happily together yesterday. …… Wait. Don’t run away, Nachi.]

[ So it’s not Shihodo-senpai?]

[ Mmm, no]

After lunch, we were having a whispered discussion together. The topic of discussion was the source of the information that had been spreading since this morning. The only people who were talking to each other were me and the two seniors, while the Ichiya seemed to be unwilling to speak up and just listened to the conversation with his elbows propped up. His face still looked displeased.

It is a fact that the members of this group talking in private is too eye-catching. In addition to the most beautiful girl in the school and the most popular freshman among the third years, there are some extras as well. But even if you are curious, there was no one brave enough to listen to them openly anymore. The first one was hit with shichimi (seven spices) and the second one was hit with a container of pepper, and they walked away. I’m sure the next one will be soy sauce.

[Don’t underestimate me. Tsukasa is trying to hide it, and I’m not going to tell anyone.]

I think it’s sportsmanship, but I still like this attitude of Shihodo-senpai.

[Maybe it was those two who did it. They like to do scandalous things, and they’re very resourceful.]

[Eh? But Katase-Senpai said “Dangerous person”……]

[Nachi-kun, you’ve got it all wrong.]

Katase-senpai interrupted my words.

I could smell the faint scent of snow from senpai. It was so faint that I couldn’t tell unless I leaned in close, but the scent and the distance distracted my heart.

[What do you mean by that?]

[I said it was dangerous because I thought Madoka would be able to find out about Nachi-kun. As long as nobody knows about Nachi-kun, it doesn’t matter how many false rumors are spread]

I guess it all comes down to what you perceive to be dangerous.

Those two girls -> Strange rumors will spread, but they won’t find out about me

Shihodo Senpai -> She won’t spread the rumor, but she will find out about me.

As a result, my senior considered the former to be harmless and the latter to be dangerous.

[So, what are we going to do now?]

[I think it’s best to leave the rumors alone. Just smile and say, ‘I’ll leave it to your imagination,’ and the rumors will disappear eventually.]

They’re used to it. ……

[Well, let’s just leave it at that. What about Nachi’s  side……?]

[Eh!?]

I was surprised that I was suddenly the subject of the conversation, and for some reason, Ichiya was also reacting slightly. He seemed to be coming closer to me. Your ears are twitching, Ichiya. 

[Umm…….]

[I think it’s fine as we decided yesterday.]

Katase Senpai answered before I could.

[At school, don’t get any closer than necessary. I don’t want to give the people around me unnecessary misunderstandings. …… That’s fine, right Chiaki-kun?]

Chiaki-kun …….

For some reason, it was a little painful for me to be called that by Katase Senpai. (TC: Dude read the situation)

[Is that fine with you, Nachi?]

[…… Yes. I think it’s better that way.]

I nodded my head in response to Shihodo Senpai’s confirmation.

As long as Katase-senpai wished to do so, I had no choice but to answer so.

[It’s settled then. Nachi, let’s go back to your classroom.

Ichiya, who had been silent until now, stood up and turned himself around. As if waiting for this, the bell for the end of the lunch break rang.

[ah, wait. …… then, excuse me.]

[Yes, see you later.]

Before I could be called “Chiaki-kun” again, I followed Ichiya and left the place.

When I returned to the classroom, it was already known that I was with Katase Senpai.

I don’t know what’s going on with this bizarre speed of information distribution. I wonder if it’s being spread by e-mail or something. The information society is something to think about, isn’t it? After all, everyone is interested in scandalous topics to a large or small extent.

(I suppose it would be counterproductive to say “I’ll leave it to your imagination” here.)

Some curious classmates came to ask me directly, but in the end, I lied and said that we just happened to be next to each other in the school cafeteria.

Yes, just as we had planned.

[I’m tired…]

After school, I plopped down on my desk after the assembly.

 I was strangely tired today. Was it because of the topics related to Katase Senpai that went around the school, or was it because I had to translate a whole long sentence into Japanese in the seventh-period reader’s class? Or maybe it was the exhaustion from yesterday that lingered. Maybe it’s all of them.

[Nachi, are you not leaving?]

[No, you go ahead. I’m going to rest for a while and then go home.]

Ichiya called out to me, but I answered him while lying on my desk. 

[I see. See you later] 

he said curtly and left the classroom.

It was almost the end of May, and even though it was around four o’clock in the evening, it was warm and sunny. The warmth gradually dulled my thoughts.

(“Chiaki-kun” huh……. It’s kind of unfair, isn’t it?)

Soon after, I was struck by drowsiness.

 …….

 …….

 …….

[-kun. Nachi-]

Someone is calling me.

I thought I heard someone’s voice in my slumber, but I couldn’t remember who it was. I wonder if this kind of thing is called dreaming.

This time, a gentle scent tickled my nose.

I wonder what this scent is. I feel somewhat nostalgic.

(Oh, that’s the smell of snow.)

I recognize it in my blurry mind.

And then.

Something soft touched my cheek.

[U`.u`n……]

Eventually, my consciousness slowly began to return to normal.

It seemed that I had slept for quite some time. The setting sun was shining in the classroom, and nobody was remaining.

No.

There was another person besides me.

(Who’s that? ……?)

The person was standing with their body propped up against the window sill, their face obscured by the backlighting of the setting sun.

[Finally, you’re awake.]

[Katase, senpai ……?]

The voice belonged to Katase Senpai.

[Yes.!]

Senpai nodded.

When I put my palms over my eyes and looked a little dazzled, Senpai pulled back the curtain a little to hide the setting sun. Finally, her face became apparent.

[What are you doing here?]

[I was finishing an assignment in the art room. On my way home. I stopped by for a while and saw Nachi-kun, so I came over.]

When she called me “Nachi-kun,” my heart throbbed a little.

I had only been called something different once before, but somehow it felt familiar. I was relieved, but at the same time, I felt a little embarrassed.

[Nachi-kun’s class is a special advance class, so it’s usually a seven-hour class, right]

Oblivious to my agitation, Senpai talked about an ordinary topic. In front of her eyes, there was a timetable on the wall.

[It’s another three hours after lunch. It’s just too hard. …… By the way, are you sure that it’s okay to come to this place?]

At school, we don’t get any closer than we have to. That’s what we decided at lunch.

[Don’t worry. No one can see us.]

She said calmly.

[Well, if that’s what Senpai says, then it’s fine.]

[Yes. If it’s okay with Nachi-kun, it’s okay with me as well.]

It’s kind of a weird exchange between the two of us.

However, it was kind of fun. Senpai is laughing, too.

[ Speaking of which, senpai, did you do anything while I was sleeping?]

[ You noticed huh. Nachi-Kun’s sleeping face was so cute, so I touched your cheek.]

Oh, I see. It seems that she played such a prank on me while I was asleep. As usual, she likes to do childish things.

[…..With my lips.]

[☆×■◎※△ーーーー!?]


TN: Huh… I’m getting used to these long chapters. It still took me more than 3 hours to finish this chapter translation and proofreading. Well, one more in this Chapter 2. Do try checking out the other novel I picked up for a change of pace. It’s another rom-com. Feel free to leave comments& ratings as well: Hidden Idol Girl 🙂


Previous | TOC | Next

Published by Lazy Translator

Lazy as one gets...

2 thoughts on “V1C2 Part 2

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started